Skip to content

Three to six months

March 5, 2009

Three to six months: Minimum amount for your emergency fund OR the expected prognosis of a coworker recently diagnosed with cancer.   (No one I’m close to, but it is still so very sad).

We make all these plans, saving 10%-20% of our incomes for retirement.  A travel fund for big dreams, a down payment fund for a home of our own, a car fund, a wedding fund.  But there are no promises.

Um, depressing much?  Sorry.  I don’t mean to be.   There is a good probability that both you and I are going to get to enjoy the fruits of our labor.  But don’t forget to create a life you love, both now and in the future.

Anyway, I have to get $20 cash to chip in for the office gift basket of who knows what.  It seems so useless.  Even $100 or $1000 won’t change what he and his family desperately want to change.  But I guess it is what you do for a coworker who you aren’t close to.   ::sigh:::

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2009 1:53 pm

    Oh how awful. I can’t even imagine what that must be like for your co-worker.

  2. March 6, 2009 10:02 am

    I know what you mean….what is a $100 gift basket in the big scheme of things, but at times like those even just a nice gesture like that can remind them that there are still people out there that care….even if you weren’t close. The important thing is that they enjoy that time they have left.

    It definitely emphasizes the importance of what you said in your last post….you need to enjoy the life you’re living NOW. Sure, we’re planning ahead and saving for the future, but that’s no reason to stop living the moment we’re currently in. [sigh]

    (Plus, there’s always a chance that the prognosis isn’t accurate. Many people get a few months “left to live” and end up living for years. Just a thought.)

  3. March 6, 2009 10:14 am

    It’s a pretty bad cancer and far along. Chances are low for even a 1 year survival, but maybe he’ll be one of the lucky ones!

    I put in my $20 and had no clue what to write on the card. What on earth can you write that isn’t trite? I think I’m also going to donate something to cancer research because… I don’t know. It is just so sad!

  4. Bonnie permalink
    March 6, 2009 10:20 am

    I think donating to a cancer-research fund is a great idea. Especially if there is one devoted entirely to the type of cancer your co-worker has. That is really sad. My former boss’s husband had pancreatic cancer, though–which is considered to be one of the absolute worst types of cancer–and he lived to see his daughter graduate high school–almost 2 and 1/2 years after his diagnosis. So, the doctors aren’t always right.

  5. March 6, 2009 12:04 pm

    This is so sad…

    Out of curiousity, do you know if this person has been sick for a while? Nothing is more terrifying to me than being healthy and then one day getting diagnosed with something like that.

  6. March 6, 2009 1:07 pm

    @LA Daze – I’m not sure. I think he was not feeling well for some undetermined amount of time, but I do think this diagnosis is quite recent

  7. March 8, 2009 8:30 am

    That is why we all work to balance the here and now with the future. How many times have you heard of someone who put everything into retirement saving, forgoing all current pleasures, only to die young and never enjoy it. I really hope your co-worker defies the odds, it does happen. Is he young or old? I hope he and his family are comforted by the gesture.

    @LA Daze, my great uncle was diagnosed with stomach cancer and was dead within a week 😦 Again was feeling vaguely unwell for some time, by the time he sought treatment it was too far along. I guess the moral is, go get checked out early.

  8. March 8, 2009 3:40 pm

    How terrible…I hope we all live to enjoy what we’ve earned too 😦

Leave a Reply

