Skip to content

I’m going shopping! (30% off Gap, Old Navy, BR)

March 11, 2009

TURN BACK NOW TO AVOID SHOPPING TEMPTATION.  YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

I posted this on my Twitter (and I’ve seen it around the web), but here is a 30% off coupon for March 12-15th, good at Gap, Banana, Old Navy and outlets.  Oh, and 5% goes to charity as well!  I also got one in my email with a one time use online code, so if you want that, you can try signing up for GAP emails.   I’m not sure if that will work or not.  Here are some things I want.  All prices noted are before the 30% off.

Banana Republic

This mandarin collar jacket, $80, has been calling my name.  I love the style.  Yet… I’m not sure how practical it is and if it is really something I should add to my wardrobe at that price.  My work isn’t formal (though you can dress up if you want) and I need some ideas on how to wear it besides just with white dress pants.  What do you think?  Also, this dress is quite cute, but a little expensive for a dress at $60.

dressnjacket

I want to try on these pants in white ($40), and these (brown $69), and these (black $79).   My best fitting pants are grey, and the rest of my pants really fit a little big.  I still wear them, but I really only like my grey ones.  I’ve been talking about getting them tailored for awhile, so maybe now is the time to see if the rest of my dress pants can be salvaged.  Anyone know what it costs (roughly) to have pants taken in?

pants
Gap
I didn’t spend much time at gap.com (yet), but maybe a cute summer tote?  I wanted to look at some more tops, but they never appeal to me online.  Gap really doesn’t appeal to me much online, but sometimes I find great stuff once I’m in the store… But it has been awhile, honestly.  T loves Gap.

bag1

Old Navy
I haven’t really shopped here in awhile, but it seems like the somewhat lower quality might be ok for a cute little sundress $25 in red stripe.  Or yellow.  Or green.

Also, maybe this dress ($15) for going out?  I was going to buy a clubbing dress last year, and never did.  I’ve been making do with what I own (not much) and I want something more fun.  This isn’t quite what I had in mind, but better than anything I currently own.  Hmm, that doesn’t seem like a good enough reason, now that I write it down…

I like Old Navy (and Target) for active wear, and wouldn’t mind some little running shorts ($15).  I’ve also had success with their cheap graphic tees (and refuse to pay $30 or $40 for a t-shirt.  Srsly.).  This one is cute ($15), but it is really hard to tell without being able to touch the material.

oldnavy

I’m obviously not getting everything I linked to, and I think I need to switch my brain from “OMG, shopping!” to “what clothes will best improve my wardrobe” and make an actual list.  Suggestions?  Thoughts?  What do YOU want to buy?  (Everything?  Me too!)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2009 5:08 pm

    I’m planning a shopping spree this weekend so I might use your coupon. Thanks!!

    For Banana Republic do you find that the items online are available in store also? There is a jacket they have online which I have wanted to buy (Heritage 3 pocket Jacket). But I went to four different BR stores (3 outlets, 1 regular store) and couldn’t find it. In fact it seems in general what I see at the store doesn’t match the web site. I will try again this weekend.

  2. March 11, 2009 5:21 pm

    The outlet/factory stores are totally different, or so I hear. I have only been to them a small handful of times. I have heard they pretty much make a separate line for the factory stores. Weird, huh?

    Otherwise, yes and no. Prices sometimes differ slightly, and they run out of different things/sizes, but unless it says “online only” it usually is/was available in stores. I’d say the sale section is where you might find the most trouble.

    If you are really persistent, you might try calling them.

  3. March 11, 2009 6:21 pm

    I love that jacket! You can definitely dress it down with jeans and ballet flats. I also think it will look good with a kakhi skirt.

  4. March 11, 2009 7:58 pm

    I think you must be right, I mainly go the outlet and rarely to regular store. And being a guy I can’t use the phone or ask for help inside the store. There is a big new one in trendy development in town, I will go there on the weekend, coupon in hand.

  5. March 11, 2009 11:15 pm

    Regarding the cost of having your pants taken in – it really depends on where you go. There’s a Korean lady on Broadway (across from the Vons) that will charge anywhere between $15-$35, and then there’s Flair cleaners on Montana (they also do alterations and tailoring) and they’re a little more expensive. I remember I went to one in Malibu and they wanted to charge me about the same amount I paid for the pants. Forget it.

    I have yet to find a good tailor in LA.

  6. March 12, 2009 10:48 am

    I saw the warning, and yet I clicked anyway.

    I would say maybe $20-$30 to take pants in? I usually have the opposite problem…

    And now I’m going to unleash my frustrated shopping addicition on you.
    This dress from American Apparel is like where a nightshirt. I got so many compliments when I wore it!

    And this Anthropologie skirt.

    I also want a pair of ankle-length skinny black pants. BR had some, so when my shopping ban is up I’ll probably go check them out!

Leave a Reply

