Skip to content

Student haircut

March 30, 2009

Haircuts with a student ID run $20 or $25.  I’m pretty laid back about my hair, so I figured I’d give it a try.  By the time I got to T‘s, almost all the salons were full (yeah, we were super lame and got haircuts together).  Luckily, we found one to take us both in just before closing on a walk-in basis.

While washing my hair she asked if I wanted layers.  I said, yes, long layers.  Which to me means layers I barely know are there, but they do something magical for the body of your hair.  Or something.  I really have no idea, but most of my stylists seem to suggest them.  After the shampoo, she started cutting, and all the sudden it became clear that these “long layers” were not long at all.  They were regular layers, all lengths, definitely noticeable.  But, once she started, there was no going back, so…. I went with it.

They way she cut the hair seemed different than a more expensive cut–faster, less precision, less focus.  Or maybe it was just her style.  Either way, I did not feel like I was really being “taken care of” the way I have at other places.   Anyway, now I have layers.  I don’t hate it, but it really isn’t what I had in mind at all.  It seems like it is more work to style.   I don’t love it either.  Maybe she thought I needed a new style.  I don’t know, maybe she was right.

I’m happier with this experience than my other $20 “first time cut” deal and my $90 salon experience, but still not as happy as I was with my lady in my old city, or my mom’s gal I went to over Christmas.  For a $30 haircut, I’m pretty happy.

Lesson learned:  walk into the hair stylist with a more firm idea of what I actually want, and communicate it well.   And don’t go at closing time.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2009 6:03 pm

    Good to remember… Will be clear, and bring in a picture and stab at it repeatedly while she cuts my hair. j/k

  2. March 30, 2009 7:05 pm

    I agree with FB, If you can bring a picture. I’ve learned I never communicate exactly what I want. =)

  3. March 30, 2009 7:06 pm

    I’ve brought pictures before, but that requires… research and planning in advance. Which I didn’t do. But that is a great idea, it has been awhile

  4. March 30, 2009 10:27 pm

    Good tips. Luckily my hair is just like any other guy’s, so it’s not really something I have to worry about. 🙂

  5. March 31, 2009 5:29 am

    If you take in a picture, make sure the stylist takes a good look at it and confirms which elements you like … I have managed to bring a picture in and have it pretty much ignored.

  6. March 31, 2009 6:18 am

    Can’t say I envy your salon experiences. Here in WI, I get a $10 guys haircut. It always comes out great – not that it’s really that much work though. I get a good, cheap haircut, and the girl gets a $5 tip. Everyone wins!

Leave a Reply

