Skip to content

Apartment Envy

March 31, 2009

I just got back from a long weekend in Portland.  We stayed with my friend, who has a fabulous apartment downtown.  She described it as small, or even tiny, but apparently she has never been in the (one bdrm/studio) apartments of 20-somethings in L.A., because it seemed pretty spacious to me (700 sq ft or so, I think).

Hardwood (laminate) floors, totally modern decor, nice kitchen.  It still was a studio, but the bedroom was partitioned off (that’s kind of how my apartment is).  Best of all, it is right in downtown Portland and has an amazing view of Mt. Hood in the distance.  Or so I’m told, it was actually too cloudy and gloomy to see it while we were there.  But I could image it.  [Pictures aren’t actually their place, to protect privacy.]

condo2

I didn’t ask, but I would guess the rent is about what I pay for my apartment, plus or minus $200.  I tried to look it up online, but didn’t come up with a very good answer.  T liked it as well, but I think he was more envious of their super nice (and giant sized) puppy, which we are totally incapable of owning any time soon.

We’re going apartment hunting very soon, and I think we’ll be able to do better than my current place (for the same price, or less), but there is no way we’ll be able to live in a trendy high rise in the best location in the city.   I’ll probably have to give up my super duper easy beach access, but I think we’ll still have relatively easy beach access.  More to come on this!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2009 12:20 pm

    Apt envy is common among angelenos, we pay too much for a small space. But imagine what NYers must feel, they pay even more to live in a closet! I’ve seen a lot of large LA apts, if you look long enough. good luck with the hunt.

  2. Bonnie permalink
    April 1, 2009 7:06 am

    Wow–looks gorgeous! I need to visit Portland. Looking forward to your LA apartment-search posts!

  3. April 1, 2009 9:02 am

    I’m always jealous of other’s apartments here because mine is in such a lame area. I fell in love with it the first time I saw it, though, so that almost makes up for the fact that we can only use 1 appliance at a time (or all the electricity turns off) and that our exterior walls are made of plywood and the heater doesn’t work.

    Good luck finding a new place! It’s hard but there are some nice places available!

Leave a Reply

