Skip to content

Of note in March

March 31, 2009

It seems so easy to justify spending.  “Well, I can afford it and I’ve saved for it, and gosh darn it, I deserve it!”  (well, maybe not the “gosh darn it” part).

I agree with this a little.  Money is made to be spent, as long as I’m spending what I can afford on things I value.  That’s why I save money, why I budget day to day things, why I don’t drive a fancy car or own the wardrobe of my dreams. But that doesn’t mean it isn’t a bit of a shock to the system to spend a bunch of money all at once.  March was something of a shock.

Of note in March:

  • $300 for a new down sleeping bag.  I’m finally able to admit the cost!  It is really great and high quality and good discount, but at the same time… come on, it’s just a blanket!
  • $70 on wine and tastings near Portland (T and I split this).  We got a pinot noir that was about double (triple?) what I usually spend on a bottle of wine, but I’m pretty excited about it.  We also tried many wines and got a couple other bottles.  The best kind of souvenirs are consumables!
  • $200 (est) on dining out in Portland.  My friends live in a really nice downtown neighborhood, and I’m under the impression they eat out quite often.  We went with the flow and ate out every meal (2 brunches, 3 dinners) and treated them to one of the dinners.  I’m all for eating out on vacation, but I usually prefer to skimp on the breakfasts, go casual on the lunches, then eat dinner somewhere fun. But whatever, everything was quite delicious.  I had the best burger in Portland, a delicious salmon melt, and some really great breakfasts.  T paid half of this.
  • $25 to a charity and $20 to a coworkers gift basket fund.  This really is only of note because I’m intending on making a habit of donating $25/mo to charity.  Which is a paltry sum given all the other extravagances I have listed, but hey, it is better than my current level of $0 (or whenever someone asks specifically).
  • $30 student haircut
  • $340 car insurance (6 mo).  This is transparent to the budget, but I did finally drop collision insurance on my car.  It really isn’t needed, even though the plans for a newer car are on hold.

Everything else was standard.

My travel fund is slightly in the hole, but will be back above $0 in April.  The next potential “real” trip won’t be until June (Catalina?), as I just discovered my new class has planned several “quizzes” in addition to the exams.  So I’m not too worried about this.  And for real, I’m not buying any more expensive gear.  I can’t imagine what else I could need!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2009 2:48 pm

    I hear that (about how spending money at once is a bit of a budget shock)

    Mine for March went down the tubes. I am trying to be better this month esp since all I need are new shoes and maybe a necklace ? 😀 😀 D: 😀 for the upcoming wedding

  2. March 31, 2009 3:22 pm

    Every time I say “I can’t imagine what else I could need”, I inevitably find something else that I need.

    🙂

  3. April 1, 2009 9:06 am

    Ooh, I’m going to Catalina next weekend (not hiking across it, sadly, but hoping to take a day hike). Not sure if you know this, but you can get discount coupons for the boat through work.

    And I agree with LA Daze – every time I think I’m set, I discover something else I want.

  4. April 1, 2009 9:09 am

    Oooh I love wine tasting. Sounds like it was a fun March.

  5. April 1, 2009 9:18 am

    @FB – Luckily I keep most of that stuff off the networth as “short term savings”, so it sn’t painful for insurance and travel spending.

    @la daze – oh i know. I’m just going to force myself not to “need” anything for awhile!

    @paranoid asteroid – let us know how it goes! I did not know about the discount, that is great news! I have this dream of camping on the sand for one of the nights, I think it is… parson’s landing. Expensive for camping, but oh well!

    @myprettypennies – yeah, the end of march was quite fun, and now my perpetually empty wine shelf has a few bottles!

Leave a Reply

