Skip to content

Emotionally attached

April 4, 2009

If I, as a responsible pf blogger, were to write a post on how to responsibly search for apartments to move in with the boyfriend, it would go something like this:

1.  Discuss the budget up front:  How much to spend, who pays for what, and moving cost budget.  Stick to this!
2.  Start to look at listings about a month in advance to get an idea of various price points.  Don’t start to tour apartments that are “available now”, because they will want you to pay rent as soon as they can.  Feel free to tour a few that are available in a couple weeks.
3.  Two weeks before really step up your apartment search.  Tour as many as you can.
4.  Don’t fall in love with anywhere, and remember that there are a lot of great places to live.  Don’t get emotionally attached too quickly–there are many great places to live.
5.  Attempt to negotiate the rent.  The worst they can do is say no.

Now, what did I actually do?

1.  Picked a somewhat arbitrary maximum budget ($1500), and forgot to discus how we’d split it.
2.  Toured stuff way too far in advance.
3.  Fell in love with somewhere and got emotionally attached before we’d even submitted applications.
4.  Oh, and it is $95 above that budget we set.
5.  And they will want us to start the lease ASAP, if we get it.
6.  Got nervous about the negotiations in typical woman fashion.  The thing about negotiating is that it is most effective when you are willing to walk away…  [I think the unit is a good price–something in the same building rented for $1550 in 2001.]

Ug, I’m so glad I’m not home shopping.  I’m not good at this!  (BTW, also found a beautiful 2 bdrm condo I want for $699,000.  Assuming we had a down payment (we don’t), mortgage would still be over $3k a month.  Can not do it, yet.)

I blame T for the overbudget-ness.  He set up the viewings for that day and took me to three from the same company first.  After a so-so first place, we went to the second one and I immediately loved it.  “How much is it?”  “$1595.”  “What?!?!  Why did you even bring me here!!!!”  The rest pretty much sucked that day, except a gorgeous and larger place in a so-so location.

We hesitated a little on turning in our applications, because they said the lease will start the day we are approved.  We are definitely going to try to negotiate THAT–they are already giving a “two weeks free!” move-in special.  We’ll see.  T turned in his info Friday, so now our application is complete.   We are model tenants, awesome credit, ability to still pay the rent for at least a year even if I lost my job, have always paid our rent on time, quiet, T fixes the little things…

Anyway, I’m super excited about it, but I don’t want to tell anyone about it until it is for sure.  Because if it doesn’t work out, I don’t want to have to tell them it failed, even though it would be due to no personal failure of my own.  You know what I mean?  It is like, if I act too excited, like I want it too much, it is less likely to happen.  Hmm, maybe that isn’t normal.

Ok, well, I’ll try to stop talking about this, but it really is consuming my life lately!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2009 10:20 am

    Talk. Keep talking. 🙂 I like the posts because it reminds me of what NOT to do.

    Esp the whole thing about going to see apartments above $1500 even when you set that budget…

  2. April 4, 2009 1:10 pm

    Ditto on the talking. 🙂 I do completely understand that feeling that if you can emotionally detach yourself, it’ll be more likely to happen, though. I have the same attitude towards job hunting!

  3. April 4, 2009 2:22 pm

    Honestly, we are paying about 2500 (together, two sep apartments) now so it’ll be a huge improvement. Yeah, something cheaper is better, but i’m not going to fret about 95/mo. And just got a raise that is more than that.

    But yeah. Once you see what just a little more can buy, it is hard to go back. We’re going to see if we can negotiate a little, esp cause it is in a rent controlled area.

  4. April 4, 2009 5:38 pm

    An extra $95/month is worth it if you really love it and the area. What’s worse is settling for less and hating it. Because then for sure you’ll end up spending more on your next apartment, just to get over the bad experience.

  5. elcheapofinance permalink
    April 4, 2009 10:34 pm

    I wouldn’t sweat it too much. You guys did your part and are good candidates, so the rest is somewhat out of your hands. I agree with others, going a little over budget is worth it especially if you love the place. Especially in LA 😀

  6. April 6, 2009 10:25 am

    “It is like, if I act too excited, like I want it too much, it is less likely to happen.”

    Ha, I do this!

    I think that $1595 is a decent price to pay around here. Of course, I have no idea where you’re looking, but Chad and I only pay a little less and we can’t run our microwave and toaster at the same time. But if you love the apartment, that’s a good thing! I’ve forgiven our apartment for many things just because I loved it at first sight. If we don’t move back east, we’ll probably live here a few more years!

    Good luck, I hope you get the place!

  7. April 6, 2009 2:19 pm

    @LA Daze – Yeah, i think it is worth it. And for me personally, it is probably an extra 50 or 60 a month.

    @el cheapo – I know we are good candidates, I’m just excited! PS, what ever happened to YOUR blog??

    @Paranoid Asteroid – I’m going to have a dishwasher!!!!! OMG! haha. We are both excited, but hopefully we’ll be able to recover if we don’t get it.

  8. elcheapofinance permalink
    April 7, 2009 9:54 pm

    @SP, I secretly started a new blog. No one actually reads it, but what the hey. Its mostly me amusing myself anyways!

    Congrats on the APT. I completely understand the door and dishwasher talk!!! Awesome.

Leave a Reply

