Skip to content

New apartment, new budget!

April 6, 2009

We got it!  We got it!  OMG, my our bedroom has a DOOR on it.  I have a dishwasher!!!!  A dishwasher!!!  We are signing the lease this week.  (No room for negotiation on lease start date, but they threw in 2 weeks free.)

Most of my “extra paycheck” this month will be going towards security deposits, some double rent ($531 extra dollars — my share is less), and other moving expenses (uh, we need a fridge).  Because of that, I won’t have to part with any of my savings to make this move happen.  The timing is perfect!  I knew I shouldn’t bother starting a moving fund!  🙂

Here is my new and improved budget!  It isn’t as awesome as this dream budget, but it is way better than my current budget (see tab).
new-budget
I moved my 401k back to 8%, even though my goal was 10% and I toyed with the idea of 12%.  I think we are going to need the extra cash this year — more to come on within a month or two… or three or four. But if not, I’ll put it back where it belongs.

I’m keeping my $125 misc money, which will keep life fun.  I expect it’ll go into dining out, entertainment, and sometimes clothes or home.  But really, for whatever.  And if nothing pops up, it’ll be funneled into savings.

Aside from my 401k  and maxing my Roth, this budget leaves me with about $1200/mo to funnel to various cash goals.  That also means my efund will cover roughly 8 months of exepenses, and to have a full years worth, I’d need $24,000.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2009 6:34 pm

    CON-GRA-TULATIONS!!

    That is awesome. Is the view cool? Can you post a pic? 😛

  2. April 6, 2009 7:48 pm

    Congratulations!

  3. April 6, 2009 8:56 pm

    @FB – thanks! No, the view is nothing to brag about at all–mostly palm trees and the side of another building, haha. It is really really close to the beach (i think one building stands between us), but can’t see it because we aren’t high enough. And the area is really walkable and fun!

    Pictures? I don’t know, the inside is pretty standard, and I’d be too nervous to post pictures of the view. You never know what a stalker would be capable of!

  4. April 6, 2009 9:29 pm

    Yay! Congratulations!

    Are you living North or South of work now? Only asking because I’m nosy, you don’t have to answer!

  5. jadefly permalink
    April 6, 2009 10:00 pm

    omg omg omg, you’re paying the same rent as me, but you get a dishwasher and a view of palm trees and proximity to the beach!! what a GREAT deal!! any units nearby? 😀 i get to look at the bars on the bedroom window of my neighbor across the “hall.”

  6. April 6, 2009 10:08 pm

    @jadefly – to be clear, We are paying $1595 between the two of us, my share is just going to be $900. Rents have fallen a bit this year compared to last. And the palm trees are just planted between buildings!

    We saw some other (kind of junky) apartments near the beach for as low as $1350 in other neighborhoods. Probably no dishwashers, sometimes tiny old stoves.

  7. April 6, 2009 10:10 pm

    Congratulations!!!

    Happy moving! And maybe you can just share pictures of the beach, not the view as seen from your place. That’d be less revealing, I think.

  8. April 7, 2009 6:24 am

    Congrats, I was pretty sure that was your share of the rent because I’ve paid way more for a studio in Hollywood. At that price you would have been getting into fist fights with other prospective tenants! I hope you enjoy the new place.

  9. Bonnie permalink
    April 7, 2009 6:38 am

    Congrats, SP!

  10. April 7, 2009 10:03 am

    Sweetness! Make sure you check craigslist for fridges – I got mine (a Kenmore energy saver) for a steal there last month!

  11. April 7, 2009 10:51 am

    How is your cable/internet only $30?? The basic cable package costs $30, and that’s without any internet connection, at least where I live. What plan are you on??

  12. April 7, 2009 11:28 am

    @anny – that is the plan, thoughI put T in charge of fridge procurement

    @meg – Good question. I’m on some sort of deal for the internet. High speed for $30/mo. isn’t regular price, but when I got off my $60/mo promo (for massive cable package +DVR + high speed) they gave me this. I’m not sure the length of the promo, but it hasn’t run out.

    I told them I didn’t need/want cable, but I still get a few channels for free — network TV only. I don’t know if i’m supposed to be getting them, actually, and could live without them. So we’ll see if I can somehow get this set up transferred to my new place. Maybe not!

  13. April 7, 2009 1:53 pm

    Aw exciting!! Oooh so jealous of the dishwasher. Hope moving goes well! I know it can be a pain but it will be so fun decorating and getting settled. Fun! Fun!

  14. April 7, 2009 2:03 pm

    That is fantastic! Congrats! Bf and I are looking for an apartment as well right now. I’m trying to keep mum about it because I don’t want to jinx anything. =)

Leave a Reply

