Skip to content

Tell Me Something Good

April 17, 2009

I’ve not really been “feeling” the blogging lately.  Besides realizing that most of my blog ideas can fit into 140 characters (thus, I just Twitter them), things have not been good lately.  When things are not good, I like to quietly gather my thoughts and try to figure out how I can make them good again.  And, you know, I still haven’t figured it out.

I can muster up lists of expenses, monthly goals, and net worth calculations. I just about killed the whole “yay, I have a new apartment!” topic.  I’d apologize, but there are a million blogs out there, and I’m not going to pretend that anyone is sitting at my blog page incessantly hitting refresh waiting for new content to appear.

Whether or not I should be (logically, I deduce “no”… or “maybe”.  Emotionally, I come up with “yes!!!”), I’m terrified of getting laid off in the next 1-6 months.  Though I did the math, and it will be ok no matter what, I am the kind of girl who likes a sense of security.  Even if it is a false one.

Mostly due to that alone (but also due to school, moving, and general work issues), I’ve been very stressed out the past couple weeks.  Not in that obvious “I want to burst into tears” way, but in this “millions of doubts gnawing at my soul” sort of way.  Which I think is worse, but I’m not really sure.

To change the subject from stress to goodness, I’ll talk about the good things I can think of right now.  When we first started dating, we would play the “Tell me something good” game and talk cloyingly about how great it was to be in love, how amazing life was, and how lucky we were.  I’m sure the conversations would have been naseauting to an observer (not that there were observers), but you know, I could kind of go for some of that “I’m so lucky!” feeling right now.

So, Good Things:

  • We’ve got plans to celebrate a friends birthday this weekend with some good good beer.
  • Things with T have been nothing but fabulous, and he’s super supportive and helpful and awesome.
  • Despite the crazy moving expenses, I’m going to be able to contribute to savings this month (only because of 3 paycheck month and some cash back bonus, but still).
  • Plane tickets are so ridiculously cheap that I might be able to sneak back home to see my family this summer/fall for under $200.  I had a ticket booked for $50 (round trip, no joke!), but the site crapped out, had an inventory error, and I gave up.
  • My little nephew is all potty-trained.
  • I have a new apartment even closer to the beach than I was before.
  • I have a dishwasher.
  • I have a bedroom with a door and more than one kitchen cabinet to store my food.  Even the silverware drawer seems spacious!
  • It is Friday!  Even if I have a lot of school work to do this weekend, it is still the weekend!
  • My dad, who has been affected by the recession the past couple months, told me he has not one, but two, job offers.
  • I have a nice bottle of Pinot Nior sitting on my wine shelf.
  • I’ll be done taking classes for my M.S. by the end of this year.
  • Maybe next weekend, we can go camping.  If not, we probably can at least go for a good hike.
  • No matter what happens, I’ve spent 2.5 years living carefully and it will be ok.

So, your turn.  Tell me something good!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2009 9:57 am

    It will be okay!
    Some of my good things:
    -I just found a great deal on a two bedroom that will help keep my bf and I sane.
    -I had a great nights sleep last night while sleeping next to bf (that almost never happens).
    -I got into graduate school.
    -I may not be getting a raise, but I have a secure job.

    When I first started reading this post I thought you might be telling us you were going to stop blogging. So even though you didn’t here is my plea – Please don’t! Your blog helped inspire me to start blogging and who says you have to blog everyday to be a blogger? Right?

  2. April 17, 2009 10:56 am

    I second asgreen’s statement…you were one of the first 3 20-something PF blogs I ever read (the other two being Well-heeled and This Writer’s Wallet), so don’t disappear now!

    Good things:
    -They’ve been keeping me busy here at work (no assignment = well…no work! And that is not good), and I seriously think I have some really good bosses/supervisors
    -I’m going to a pool party tomorrow!! Yay!
    -I have delicious malt beverages to take with me to the pool tomorrow!
    -I have a 3 day weekend!!
    -I just had a Big Mac for lunch! (I hadn’t had one in ages)
    -3 hours left until the official start of the weekend!
    -I could keep going with this list….and I consider that a very good thing.

  3. April 17, 2009 11:09 am

    Hi Stacking Pennies!

    Layoffs – and the pontential for Layoffs is a very stressfull time! My something good to share is that my department has been looked at twice, layed of four people (there used to be 11 of us) and even though I’m the most junior on the team, they’ve kept me around 🙂 My job has changed – but so far, so good.

    You have inspired my blog today about Coping with Job Loss.
    http://jessiesmoney.blogspot.com/2009/04/coping-with-job-loss.html

  4. April 17, 2009 12:39 pm

    @QL & asgreen – no worries, I just don’t blog when I don’t want to, I don’t think I’d shut down! I’m not a problogger or anything!

    Thanks for your good things!

  5. April 17, 2009 1:12 pm

    Pennies,

    I found myself unemployed 1.5 months ago, and yes, it pretty much sucks. But I’ve been careful with money, and can last 12+ months being frugal without working, so all is good. I have my days where I don’t want to see anyone, speak to anyone and I just stay in (reading blogs – sad but true!) but this week, Ive turned a corner – you never know whats round the corner – some amazing might be waiting for me! And you know wot? Everything happens for a reason, and maybe now I can do the things Ive always wanted – now THAT is something good!!!

    Keep blogging!

    x

  6. April 17, 2009 4:25 pm

    My husband and I are safely home watching snow fall.
    It’s spring! (I realize those statements are a bit at odds, but that’s my life)
    Almost all of the seed I planted (indoors) have sprouted.
    I have nothing I need to do this weekend.

  7. jade permalink
    April 17, 2009 5:05 pm

    Pennies!
    This gratitude journaling is supposed to be very effective for chasing away the blues, so you’re in the right direction. 🙂
    My good things!: … My cat is sitting in the doorway of my bedroom while I’m sitting here typing this to you, and he’s licking himself, and he just looks so content as well as INtent. I’ve survived another week at my workplace! Today is payday! I’m getting my hair cut and permed (wavy!) tomorrow afternoooon!
    Jade

  8. April 17, 2009 6:12 pm

    Ooooh, i’ll participate…

    I got approved for my green card through my job 🙂

    And I got to attend the Dylan McDermott photoshoot for my job…and that in itself was a major treat as the guy is such a hottie in real life!

    I am going to Hawaii for free 🙂

    Ok I better stop before something bad happens.

  9. April 17, 2009 7:10 pm

    You described almost perfectly how I am feeling. A “tell me something good” game is certainly in order.

    1. I finally have some idea of where I would like to be in the next 3 years
    2. My wife is graduating in a couple of weeks.
    3. I was accepted to BYU.
    4. My statistics class is nearly over.
    5. Summer in nigh at hand!

    Great post. Honestly, SP, you have plenty of people out there that read your blog. No, I don’t sit and hit the refresh button or anything, but over the past 9 months of reading I have thoroughly enjoyed it. Keep it up. 🙂

  10. April 17, 2009 7:53 pm

    1. Today I received call and e-mail from headhunter. I haven’t been in job market for years & years, they found 5-year-old copy of my resume & contacted me, which says to me companies are hurting badly and are very desperate to find workers.

    2. As of today, my personal net-worth is at all time high. The stock market is zooming 2007-style and making me very happy.

    3. I’m leaving for long vacation this weekend. Asia, baby!!

    The recession is behind us and is so totally February 2009, like you all say in SoCal, ….. 🙂

  11. April 18, 2009 4:53 am

    1. My uncle is getting married next week so I get to go see the extended family. (I love my dad’s side of the family!)

    2. I got evaluated at work and the assistant principal said he’s recommending they hire me for next year as well.

    3. My roommate’s dog is no longer trying to eat the guinea pigs; she now watches them alot and occasionally decides to lick them through the cage bars, but she’s not displaying any aggression. The guinea pigs, for their part, seem not to mind being licked by a large, stupid, friendly animal.

  12. bouncing back betty permalink
    April 19, 2009 8:31 am

    1) I got my paycheck from my second job a week earlier than expected and it will allow me to be current on all my fiscal obligations for April and May

    2) It’s warm and sunny out this weekend, the whole weekend first time in ages!

    3) I managed to purge 55 items (some large, some small) from my home.

    4) I made an amazing dinner last night….

    Great post

  13. Bonnie permalink
    April 20, 2009 8:25 am

    SP–please keep blogging! Yours is one of the best!

    Good things:

    1) Right now I have a steady, decent-paying job with killer benefits, in my chosen field. Knock on wood!
    2) Recently I became debt-free and am now finally able to increase my savings.
    3) Relationship with BF is going well.

  14. April 20, 2009 2:55 pm

    Spring is slowly coming.
    I made a huge pot of homemade spaghetti sauce last night. Yum!
    My mum may have found a good deal on her (used) dream car right when she needs a new car.
    I’m going on vacation this year after all!
    The price of my vacation is turning out to be much cheaper than expected.

  15. El Cheapo permalink
    April 20, 2009 11:46 pm

    As one of your loyal readers, I found the apartment/moving/job/relationship talk highly interesting if not riveting. It may not seem like much, but seeing someone go through the same kinda stuff I’m going through right now and writing about it online… well… that’s pretty cool if you ask me.

    Something good: My 1.5 y/o baby nephew calls me all the time and just babbles. I guess I’m programmed into the speed dial on my sister’s phone, so whenever he plays with it, he happens to dial me up just to chat. What a cutie!!

  16. April 21, 2009 10:20 am

    Thanks so much for replying everyone! You all have some fabulous stuff going on in your lives. And thanks for the encouragement to keep blogging, I appreciate it!

Trackbacks

  1. Bit of a hamster in a wheel right now | A Gai Shan Life

Leave a Reply

