Skip to content

Best Ways to Keep Your Car Running (via Car Talk)

April 20, 2009

If you drive an older car (or any car at all), I highly recommend checking out Car Talk’s suggestions on how to make your car last forever, or at least through this recession.


(Image by Danilo Prates)

They are all great suggestions, but I’m going to highlight just the final one:  Be Proud!

Owning an older car should be a source of pride. You’re showing that you’re sensible, not swayed by the latest models and capable of keeping your car well maintained. Who knows? That sort of no-frills common sense can be very appealing to members of the opposite sex. It might even land you a date! After all, who wants somebody who’s always got his eye on a new model?

Even if it doesn’t score you the babe or hunk of your dreams, owning an older car can offer you something else: a truly liberating experience. You no longer care about scratches, dents or bird droppings.

And, best of all? It’s paid for!

So who cares what your neighbors think? Shoot them a broad, smug smile the next time they eye your jalopy puttering down the street.

I don’t think anyone who lurks around pf blogs needs to be spreading any more smugness (hehe), but I’m certainly not ashamed to be driving a car that is nearly 10 years old.  A new car is on my list of goals, but it is a far lower priority than both an efund and sufficient funds for traveling and fun.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2009 3:32 pm

    I cant completely relate, especially about how you don’t have to worry about bumps and scratches. I can park in a parking lot free of care because of somebody dings me with their car door, oh well…

    If I were driving something brand new that still had $30k owed on it, I wouldn’t have the same kind of peace of mind.

  2. April 21, 2009 8:19 am

    Thanks for sharing this article. Most of it was pretty self-explanatory (get your oil changed, don’t drive), but it was a great reminder that I need to get a good car wash after the salty winter! I drive a ’94 Honda. It’s not the finest thing in the world, but it’s PAID FOR! 🙂

  3. April 22, 2009 12:24 pm

    My dad is a huge car talk fan so I’m imagining click and clack’s voice as I read this post!

Leave a Reply

