Skip to content

That was quick

April 23, 2009

I spoke too soon!  Evil Cable Company, are you reading my blog? I came home the other day to find all my channels gone.   Even the network ones!

I’m not too sad, and of course, I have no right to be.  I don’t think TV rots the brain or anything, but I do like it to be something I do intentionally (like tune into Grey’s), not just something turned on to kill time.  The only channel that runs shows I can’t easily find online is Bravo, and my life probably will be ok (improved?) without the Real Housewives.  Oh, and TLC and HGTV.  I don’t watch sports, so no problem there.

Anyway, I had an antenna (that I got for free) and I plugged it in and happily noted that the transition to D-TV has been postphoned (june 12th) and I can still get network channels.  I headed over to the DTV2009 and applied for my converter box coupon, so we’ll see how that goes.

Other entertainment options for nights we we stay in:  I think we are overdue for a new board game.  Any recommendations? I want something that can be fun for just two people, and also for a group.  We have Scrabble and Taboo (not good for 2).  (I do not like Cranium, but I play when forced.)  We also have cribbage, which I’ve been refusing to play against T, after losing 7  times in a row.  I’m a really sore loser.  You would be too, after 7 losses!

Also, we are considering Netflix and/or Redbox.  What are your experiences with those?  Or just regular movie store rentals?

Of course, there is always Hulu.  So far I mostly just tune in for House and Bones (which I can get over the air anyway).  And we’ve had to stop more than one movie after 20-30 minutes because we were bored.  But I’ll keep using it.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2009 1:16 pm

    I got Netflix about two months ago, and I looove it. I picket the “1 DVD out at a time” option for $9.53/month (tax included). It’s great, especially since I can now watch a whole slew of movies that I have been wanting to watch but not necessarily purchase… and, once I mail one back, I receive the next one on my list within two to four days. So far so good. 🙂

  2. April 23, 2009 1:23 pm

    Boggle! You need to get Boggle. 🙂

  3. April 23, 2009 1:50 pm

    Apples to Apples is a really great group game. You usually need at least 4 people to play to make it interesting – but it’s not good for only two.

  4. April 23, 2009 2:19 pm

    Bird and I like to play Qwirkle.

    And redbox is great!

  5. Rini permalink
    April 23, 2009 4:55 pm

    We play a lot of Yahtzee and Rummikub around here… And do the cheapie plan on Netflix as well – but we use it primarily for watching old seasons of shows we like, with only the occasional movie thrown in for good measure.

  6. Elizabeth permalink
    April 23, 2009 6:17 pm

    We did the HD antenna/ over the air business + Netflix for a couple years, and only just ended up with Dish when they made us an offer too good to refuse.

    It’s great if you only watch network channels and get a good signal.

  7. April 23, 2009 9:11 pm

    I haven’t played it myself, but I hear that Settlers of Catan is supposed to be an amazing board game. After reading an article in Wired, I looked it up online and it looks really good (they called it monopoly meets risk) and seems to be well-balanced, easy to learn, fast to play and fun for all. They’ve sold like a zillion copies in Germany (where it originated).

  8. MickMack permalink
    April 23, 2009 9:31 pm

    I highly recommend Blokus for your new board game. Good for 2. Good for 4. Good for all ages (even my 6 year old can play) and slightly addictive. The first round is for learning, the second round is for revenge!

    Can I post a website in a reply? The official website is http://www.blokus.com/

  9. April 24, 2009 5:04 am

    I played an awesome game at a friends house, I think it was called Ticket to Ride…or something to that effect. They said they got it online, I don’t think it’s in stores, so you can probably do a search for it.

  10. April 24, 2009 5:42 am

    Cheapoffrugal hits it right on the head. Settlers of Catan is the greatest game in a long time. We got it a week ago and love it. The “Monopoly meets Risk” analogy is dead-on. We played it last night till 1:30am! We also heard of it from the Wired article and decided to give it a chance. We’re very glad we did.

    Also – you can’t go wrong with Connect Four. This is an old standard that always seems to be at the top of the game pile.

  11. cait permalink
    April 24, 2009 5:43 am

    bananagram! I played it at a friends a week or so ago and I am going to go and get my own–tonight maybe now that I’ve remembered it again. Its sort of scrabble-esque/ crossword puzzly and very entertaining. Also redbox (if you live near-ish to a place that has one) is a good deal–espeically if you sign up for their email free-code-of-the-week, where you get 1 night free with a code–their selection isn’t always the greatest, but it is even cheaper than netflix if you can do it with free codes 🙂

  12. Bonnie permalink
    April 24, 2009 6:31 am

    Playing old-fashioned cards is always a lot of fun! Scene-It can be fun but prolly more so with a group.

    I’ve had Netflix for 4 years and LOVE it. BF and I like documentaries and other hard-to-find stuff, and Netflix has everything–movies, docs, TV shows. Plus it’s such a good deal. We have the three-at-a-time plan. Neither one of us has cable so it works out great.

  13. April 28, 2009 2:34 pm

    I miss TLC and HGTV the most out of not having cable TV any longer.

Leave a Reply

