Skip to content

Weekend Spending: New Bike Edition!

April 26, 2009

It turned out to be quite the expensive weekend!

  • Beach chair:  $23
  • Farmers Market:  $6, strawberries, avocados, lettuce, apples.  T paid for some of those.
  • New coffee travel mug, $16
  • New GT Nomad ’08 bike:  $250
  • Bike helmet, $40
  • Beer, food, parking at friend’s birthday celebration thing at Naja’s Place:  $44
  • TOTAL:  I don’t want to do the math!

I still need a bike lock, but for now I just will keep it inside.  But I can’t bike to the store and leave it outside or anything.  I can’t beleive I didn’t get a bike a year ago.  It is so convenient!

However, I usually do quite a bit more research than I did (approximately 1 hour of research).  As I started reading, I kept becoming interested in expensive bikes.  There were some really sweet road bikes, then I got interested in a Trek 7000 as my “starter bike”.  But I realized that for what I intend to use my bike for (riding around town, occasional for fun rides < 30 miles) I probably should just get a low end starter bike, so I talked myself out of it and back into the much less expensive GT Nomad.  It is an 08, so it was already 30% off.  They gave me an additional 10% discount off $259 (but then there was that 9% CA sales tax).   If I need to upgrade, I can.  But this bike should meet my needs.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bonnie permalink
    April 27, 2009 11:01 am

    I bought a new bike this weekend, too–a 2008 Jamis Commuter 2.0. I LOVE it! I hadn’t owned a bike in about 15 years.

  2. April 29, 2009 10:07 am

    Must have been something in the air this weekend…I bought a bike too. I got a 2008 Marin. I plan on blogging more about it once I get the internet back at my house. Like Bonnie, I haven’t had a bike in forever…I’m pretty excited about it!

Leave a Reply

