Skip to content

I’m so over this recession

April 27, 2009

I haven’t said much on this, but I haven’t exactly been subtle either.  There are going to be layoffs at my job again.  Not officially, but it is pretty evident what is coming, the questions are “how many?”, “when?” and “who?”.  The task I’ve been on is ending mid-summer, and we are all looking to find something new to keep us gainfully employed.

I went through a phase of anger at the economy and feeling indignant that I might get laid off.  I highly doubt I’m in the bottom X% of the company, but if your task ends, it isn’t so likely they are going to lay off some other worker who has a task, even if they aren’t quite as good.  But I’ve mostly moved out of my mopey phases and into action mode.  Though, still slipping back into mopey on occasion.

The good news (if you can call i that) is that my manager forecasts that layoffs will happen in August (with 60 day notices coming right up in June).  So there is some time.  But not a lot of time.

Here are my current possibilities

  1. Internal position at/near where I currently work:  There really aren’t many right now, and I’m not the only one who is gunning for this, but there is a chance.  This would be the ideal situation.  Supposedly I’m being considered for one and am supposed to be contacted, but… I haven’t been contacted. Maybe they realized that my job experinece isn’t what they want?
  2. Internal position a somewhat crappy commute away from where I currently live.
  3. External position near where I currently live/work.
  4. External position + crappy commute
  5. Collect unemployment until one of the above options pans out
  6. If timing is perfect, take 10 weeks off (unpaid) and complete my M.S. (paid) in one very stressful quarter.  Then, try 1-4 again.  (I don’t think timing will work for this though.)

My ultimate career goal right now (besides the M.S. degree) is to get into a position involving the skills I want to develop and stay there a minimum of 2 years, long enough to become an expert, a capable leader, and to determine if I want to go for an MBA.  But if that isn’t possible, then what?

Given option 2 and 3  both, I’m not sure which I prefer.  Driving further would be a pain, and I’d probably try to move back to this site as soon as possible–which isn’t optimal.  But neither is starting new at another company.  Assuming a new company is even hiring.  Our closest competitor is facing similar layoffs and I have a few friends there who are worried themselves.

I have a habit of jumping to negative conclusions and preparing for the worst case scenario.  I doubt that is the best strategy.  I think I do it because of my general lack of confidence in my ability to deal with whatever life may throw at me on the fly.  So I prepare.  I save an emergency fund, I have plans A-F, and I worry.  I try to put on a brave face, but it is difficult and scary.  I just want to keep my job.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2009 1:03 pm

    Can we ask what kind of work you do exactly? I know some of us are leaving our employments voluntarily, and might be able to help you find something in your field….

    Michelle

  2. April 27, 2009 3:51 pm

    I don’t think you’d have much trouble finding something. Pickings here are slim, but there are other companies in the area that are doing very well.

    If all else fails, I can send your resume to my current bosses? That might be worse than being unemployed, though….

  3. elcheapofinance permalink
    April 27, 2009 8:15 pm

    I think you’re doing the right thing. Realistically, the pink slip is mostly out of your control, but sharpening existing skills and keeping your eyes open may present some nice opportunities (whether you stay or go).

    Amen about the driving too. Whenever I get a sniff of a job opp my first question isn’t how much but rather how far away will I have to drive for work everyday. Then again, the search for affordable housing (and good schools for older settled in folk) have people spread out everywhere too.

    Hoping for the best for ya SP. Its okay to be scared, but be brave too!

Trackbacks

  1. I can handle it « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

