Skip to content

Reason my rent is so high

June 3, 2009

Beach

Some days, despite all the stress, I can’t help but feel so incredibly lucky.

I sneaked onto my roof to take a photo (I’m not posting that one, in case I have an really brilliant stalker who can pinpoint my location based on it), then skipped down to the beach for a quick walk and to capture some beauty.  Even in June Gloom, evenings can be gorgeous!

Next month is the first month of fully shared rent, since T wasn’t able to get out of his lease (but he’s been subsidizing our rent).  I need to pay $900 on July 1st, so instead of setting aside nearly $725 each paycheck, I have to set aside just $450.  Finally! What a huge improvement for my cash flow!  The extra money is going straight into the wedding fund for now.

If in a year or so we decide we’d like to save more cash, we can move to a less awesome location and probably get our rent down to $1200 or so and still be on the westside in a 1 bdrm.

This weekend I have my final exam for school, then I have a couple weeks off, in which I hope my stress level goes down.  I think we’re (finally) going to plan a hike on Sunday. Good things are in sight!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Bonnie permalink
    June 3, 2009 11:15 am

    *sigh* SP, I hate you. Just kidding. 🙂 So glad you’re enjoying the awesome new apt. location.

  2. June 3, 2009 11:23 am

    You sound so happy 🙂

  3. June 3, 2009 11:24 am

    Wow – Looks like you live in a beautiful place!

  4. June 3, 2009 11:32 am

    Wow what a gorgeous location. That’s awesome! Makes me want to go California again. 🙂

  5. June 3, 2009 12:47 pm

    Ah, living along the coast is great, isn’t it?

    I have some amazing pictures of the sunset in Santa Monica and Venice.

    And the view from the ramp from Ocean to PCH never fails to take my breath away.

  6. June 3, 2009 4:28 pm

    We do have a lovely coastline, don’t we? Glad you’ve got some breathing room now that you’re just about settled in.

  7. June 3, 2009 4:58 pm

    I love that picture!

  8. El Cheapo permalink
    June 3, 2009 7:23 pm

    We definitely pay the ‘sunshine tax’ to have the best weather anywhere in the US. Great pic!

  9. June 4, 2009 9:50 am

    I am regretting my decision to move, even though our beach is not nearly this nice!

  10. June 4, 2009 2:00 pm

    Beautiful, I never really lived on the westside. My job has usually been downtown and the traffic would just kill me coming from Santa Monica. I promise the eastside isn’t so bad, we have the hipsters after all.

  11. June 6, 2009 9:44 am

    awesome! extra cash & end of finals is wonderful, enjoy your time off 🙂 and thanks for making me miss Cali….i really need to get back there again soon.

Leave a Reply

