Skip to content

Just because I’m letting them pick the dresses…

June 12, 2009

…does not mean I can’t also take a peek at what is available!

BMdresses

The one on the left is a $148 Maggy London dress from Nordstrom, and the one on the right is a more budget friendly $60 Nine West dress available at Amazon, among other places.  Straps are removable.  I definitely like the Maggy London dress more, but I’d be ok with either.  Perhaps the headless model is hurting the nine west dress?

I’m still fine with whatever else they come up with, I just couldn’t resist seeing what was out there!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jadelyn permalink
    June 13, 2009 11:11 am

    The headless model may be less of a problem than the fact that the Nine West dress looks like a frilly nightie and not a dress you wear in public…Love the Maggie London dress though.

  2. jade permalink
    June 13, 2009 12:30 pm

    Agree with Jadelyn. Hate the ruffles on the Nine West dress, straps or no straps.

  3. June 13, 2009 12:41 pm

    Hmm i like the ruffles. I far prefer the other one, but I figured I should at include something at a lower price point.

  4. June 14, 2009 3:41 pm

    Yeah, the Maggy London dress is prettier. But the price tag? Ouch! We were lucky, we found a fabulous dress at JC Penney that fit all our bridesmaids nicely. I had hoped to find it cheaper, but they all assured me $60 was fine. I guess we should just be glad royal blue suddenly came back into vogue in time for our wedding!

  5. June 14, 2009 6:10 pm

    I like the Maggy London one better too.

  6. Bonnie permalink
    June 15, 2009 7:53 am

    Love the Maggy London dress. That style is flattering to pretty much any body type, too.

  7. June 15, 2009 2:43 pm

    Unless the bridesmaids are all perfect stick figures, that nine west dress is not very flattering! It doesn’t even look that great on the model – always a telltale sign the fit is bad. I love Nine West shoes, but whenever I’ve tried on their clothing it always fits poorly (though I’m curvier than the average gal so it may just be bad for that body type). And I agree it looks like a nightie (albiet a cute nightie!).

  8. June 15, 2009 3:30 pm

    In theory, the dresses are equivalent prices, though one is on sale. I guess because everyone hates it?

    There are very few dresses in the color I want that aren’t too bridesmaidy…
    http://www1.macys.com/catalog/product/index.ognc?ID=384544&CategoryID=35254

    That one is nice, but too fancy looking I think. Anyway, my sister is a good shopper, I think that she’ll figure something out at whatever price she thinks is reasonable.

    All my BM dresses were at least $150, which was annoying.

Leave a Reply

