Skip to content

New TV!

July 4, 2009

For two people who don’t even have cable, a new TV seems like an unlikely purchase.  T has been talking about one for awhile,, and thinking about it even longer.   I’ve been a bit indifferent.  Finally, I told him to either make it happen or stop talking about it!   My old TV started making a high pitch noise when we turned it on, so he took it as a sign.

He suggested that I pay 30% of the price, and I agreed.  Even though I’m ok with our current TV, I certainly benefit from a new one.  In the long run, we are combining finances, so it doesn’t really matter.  I also set a limit of $1000, so the most I’d have to shell out was $300.

He picked out a highly rated 46′ plasma HDTV for about $1200 with a 1 year manufacturers warranty.  We used my Visa Signature Card, which offers a warranty service that extends the warranty to two years.

That means I have to find $300 in this months budget.  It shouldn’t be a problem, I just have to figure out where to take it from.

We use our TV a fair ammount, despite not having cable.  Netflix has been a great purchase for us, and we even can hook up T’s computer to the TV and watch streaming instant Netflix or Hulu (though nothing much on Hulu lately).  And now that we have a big TV, maybe a Wii would be fun. . .

PS – Happy Fourth of July! I’ve been sick for a few days, so I’ll have some July goals up soon.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2009 1:27 pm

    Sounds good to me. As long as you use one.. heck, why not? I’d buy a TV if I was obsessed with the Wii or Netflix or something!

  2. July 5, 2009 5:29 pm

    We’ll probably upgrade our TV once we have a new place & Chad gets a job. What brand did you get, if you don’t mind me asking? $1200 is not (that) bad of a price!

    I cannot recommend the Wii enough, and Wii Sports (the one that come free with it) is easily one of my favorite games. Wii Play is OK, and it comes with a free controller so I think it works out to $10 for the game. Wii Fit is only fun for like a month, once you beat the minigames.

  3. July 5, 2009 5:55 pm

    @FB – I wouldn’t say we are obsessed or anything, but it will be nice

    @paranoidasteroid – I think it was this one: http://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-VIERA-TC-P46G10-46-Inch-Plasma/dp/B001UAB40E/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1246841499&sr=8-1

    I wanted a wii when they first came out, but after playing on a friend’s big screen, I didn’t think it could possibly be the same on my TV.

  4. July 6, 2009 7:00 am

    i think TV’s are funny – it’s all perspective.

    When I bought my 37 inch plasma, I thought it was huge – and it was compared to what we had before. But it’s perfect for the room it’s in – so i’m still pretty happy with it, even though now I see the 47 inches and bigger….

    hope you enjoy it!

  5. Bonnie permalink
    July 6, 2009 10:21 am

    I love Netflix but the Wii has turned out to be a bad impulse purchase for me. BF and I are all about riding our bikes and taking walks lately, for one, and the novelty of the cute Wii characters wore off for me REALLY quick. I think if you’re a gamer-type anyway it might be worth it, but it wasn’t for me.

  6. July 6, 2009 10:24 am

    @Jessie – T was looking at 50+ inches and I said no way! 46 is pretty huge, our current one is 27 I think.

    @Bonnie – thanks for the tip. I’m definitely holding off for now — I have too many other hobbies that I don’t have time for right now (that I already spent money on). Def not a gamer, but I did play every nintendo system through the Nintendo 64 when I was a kid.

  7. July 6, 2009 12:27 pm

    Fortunately for us a 37″ was the biggest that would fit! It still doesn’t stop Mr M from dreaming of a larger one. We don’t have cable either, we use it mainly for movies and video games. I have no time to watch TV anyway, why would I pay for something I never use. I hope you enjoy the new toy.

  8. July 6, 2009 12:33 pm

    @Miss M – if it were just me, I never would have bought it. We have been watching quite a bit of TV thru netflix lately (even though I shouldn’t be). Anyway, I’m willing to indulge T if he wants to pay for 70%

Trackbacks

  1. Boys and their toys « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

