Skip to content

I’d cheap out on almost anything

July 8, 2009

Honestly there are very few things I won’t attempt to cheap out on once or twice.  On the other hand, there are also lots and lots of things that I’m willing to spend a little extra on now that I’d suddenly start cheaping out on if conditions deemed necessary.  I think refusing to cheap out is, in most cases, a luxury.

But no matter what, here is what I’d rather do without than cheap out on:

1.  Location of Residence:  While I don’t know if I can afford to live in my current neighborhood as a property owner, I’d never live in a dangerous area.  I’d move back to the Midwest before living somewhere dangerous.  [I do realize there are plenty of nice neighborhoods all over L.A. to consider, many cheaper than mine.]

2.  Alcohol:  I’d rather have a drink at all than to drink really cheap beer or gross cheap alcohol.  Exceptions apply, but rarely.

3.  Running shoes, etc.:  I tried to cheap out on this and failed.  I need arch support.  I suppose I should put fitness and hiking gear in general.  Cheaping out is generally an idea that leads to discomfort.

That’s about it!  There are plenty of things I will splurge on, but for most things, I’m willing to give the cheaper versions a try first.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2009 9:46 pm

    I agree with the Sporting goods. Since running and other sports are things that could potentially be very painful and even cause injury, I think it’s important to find shoes and equipment that is well suited to your body type!

  2. July 9, 2009 9:03 am

    Oh that’s tricky….

    What wouldn’t I cheap out on?

    – there are a few grocery items that I can sooo taste the difference between (musterd, butter, coke) – i don’t cheap out on those, but I do wait for sales
    – care tires – safety and my vehicle are very important

    hmm.. i’m sure there are others but I’m not sure if it just now…

Leave a Reply

