Skip to content

July Goals, a bit late

July 10, 2009

It might be 10 days into the month, but I do have a few goals for July.  I’m going to try rewards since I’ve been regularly failing half my goals and obviously not taking them seriously.

This month I’m starting on a new task at work.  Day to day stuff is going to be busy and probably stressful (as usual).  Homework, midterm, salsa class w/T,  watching lectures, learning new job, reading work documents that are over my head.  Oh, and maybe some wedding planning — April will sneak up on us, I’m sure!  In light of that, these goals aren’t a too ambitious, but enough to keep me going.

1. Eat out only once more, that’s it! (And T has to pay.  Hehe.)  I spent our eating out budget in the first week of July!  Everyone on Twitter said sushi was essential, I blame you!   (Happy Hour of beverage does not count — that is entertainment budget!)
Reward:  Get some delicious TJ’s desert item that I usually would pass by.  Yum yum!

2.
Spend extra time putting myself together in the morning, at least two days in the work week.  Don’t laugh at that!  I have never been into the girl stuff of hair and make-up.  Two days is not much, I know, but I’m trying to form the habit.  Eventually, this should be an (almost) every day thing. 
Reward
:  $25 gift card to Sephora (credit card reward is coming up).

3.  Stick to jeans on Friday ONLY.  I’ve been abusing the casual dress code. 
Reward
:  Something happy for my cubicle.  Because I’ve been wanting to decorate anyway — it is so dull!

4. Climb Mount San Gorgonio and visit Sequioa/Kings Canyon.  This is pending permits, but it should happen.  Woooo! 
Reward
:  None.  I already bought a nice new Icebreakers hiking shirt this month.  Most expensive t-shirt ever!  And also, this is like.. vacation.  A reward of it’s own!

5. Run twice a week during work week in the a.m. (starting next week). 
Reward
:  Uh…  I also already got 2nd t-shirt that could be running or hiking.  REI looooves me this month!   This is probably going to be the biggest challenge, so I need a real reward.  I’ll get another mani/pedi in August!

6.  Small things to accomplish:

  • Make doctor & dentist & eye appointments.  I’ve been avoiding it, but seriously!  Getting ridiculous
  • Passport.  Ditto!
  • Get wedding reception site finalized/booked.  Pending the flaky restaurant coordinator we are working with.  Deposit of about $1250 is needed — yikes!
  • Oil change and car wash.  Including interior.  T, please help me do this!
  • Love my bf.  🙂  We have one “off” weekend (no exams, no hikes) and I think we need a date night.
  • Return REI stuff that didn’t work out
  • Invite friend to happy hour. If she can’t make it, I still count this goal as a win — the key is to invite!
    Reward:  If I get all this done, I deserve a gold medal!  No reward for these, just simple peace of miJulynd.

Image Credit:  urban_data

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2009 5:23 am

    Um.. sushi IS essential. 😛

    I stand by my tweet!

  2. Bonnie permalink
    July 10, 2009 6:13 am

    I hear you with the wearing jeans on Friday thing. We have an all-week casual dress code, too, but the real go-getters dress business-casual or better, and they’re often the ones who get the best opportunities…still, sometimes it’s just SO much easier to throw on a pair of (nice) jeans and a shirt. I also hear you with the taking time to get ready. I’m so lazy–I have a long-ish commute so I often leave the house with wet hair and no makeup.

  3. July 10, 2009 7:59 am

    I’m bad for not taking enough time to get ready in the morning… I just would so rather sleep for another 30 minutes….

  4. July 10, 2009 9:32 am

    I’m guilty of abusing the dress code as well! If I could get away with not looking so put together every day, I really would. But my boss used to work in the cosmetics industry for years, and she notices when I don’t wear make-up. I get comments like: you look so…tired today. Ha! I guess Asian eyes do look tired without make up on them!

  5. July 10, 2009 10:05 am

    @FB: Essential, yes, budget friendly, not so much! But yummy! :p

    @Bonnie – yes, I found if I turn the vents on high, my hair can be dry (and ugly) by the time I get to work. Can’t beleive I admit that.

    @Jessie – oh me too!

    @LA Daze – I work mostly with men (or by myself at my desk, sadly!) and with nerds (which I mean in a totally affectionate way…) But many (not all) of the women are much more “put together” than I am. I kind of always thought that when I “grew up” i’d suddenly be good at hair and make-up. I guess it isn’t something that comes to you magically…

  6. July 13, 2009 5:37 pm

    I like the rewards attached to each goals. 🙂 Good luck!

  7. Katie permalink
    July 13, 2009 7:03 pm

    I really like the fact that you give yourself a specific reward to look forward to if you achieve your goals. I am definitely going to start utilizing that practice!

  8. August 8, 2009 8:56 pm

    Wow, I definitely should try to accomplish those same goals…I should dress a little nicer at work, and exercise more. Maybe I should list these goals on my blog!

Leave a Reply

