Skip to content

My $3,865 credit card bill

July 21, 2009

From June 20th – today, I charged a shocking (to me and my budget) $3865 on my Visa.

!!!!!!!!!!

This doesn’t include the $750 T and I charged on the joint card in roughly the same period (my share is half). This doesn’t include the $850 check I sent the wedding photographer as a deposit.

What happened?!!?!

  • New TV, $1168.  T reimbursed me for $868
  • New speakers, $678.  T reimbursed me for $678.
  • Catering deposit for reception dinner, $1250
  • New brakes and oil change, $296.
  • REI.com sale, $170 (but I just returned $98 due to fit — i purposely ordered more than I planned on keeping in order to get the right size and styles)
  • Eye Appointment, $110 (I can get HSA reimbursement, but I have to figure out how exactly)
  • White House Black Market, $61, cardigan, purse.
  • Gas, $120 (several separate purchases)
  • Sushi, $50

And how is that ok?!?!

  • Much of it was T’s silly electronic purchases that I was reimbursed for.  We used my card due to the warranty extender benefit.  I paid $300 towards the TV, nothing towards the rest.
  • The other large chunk ($1250 reception deposit) was a planned purchase and the money (plus more) was waiting in the Wedding Fund
  • I have a car fund to cover repairs, which smooths out the car spending to a monthly tab.

This is one reason why I like splitting my money into funds — a car repair bill doesn’t mean much, since I intended on spending the money eventually and set aside for it in months when expenses were low.  Wedding spending has been budgeted and separated from normal money, so it doesn’t affect my standard cash flow and savings.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2009 6:12 am

    I was glad when I separated my savings into separate ones for the wedding and the honeymoon, but I just wrote the check to our venue/caterer – $7000! It didn’t affect my monthly savings, but my net worth did take a hit!

  2. July 21, 2009 6:28 am

    Those wedding deposits add up believe me. And ours we couldn’t put any on a credit card, they all wanted cash. I guess it’s for the best but we’ve had some lean months because of it. Good luck with wedding planning!

  3. SP permalink*
    July 21, 2009 8:04 am

    @paranoid asteroid – yeah exactly. Net worth will take a hit, but I don’t feel like the month was a complete financial failure. Well, maybe I do… but not because of the wedding deposits

    @Sallie’s Niece – no kidding. I think those are the two major deposits. I was pleasantly surprised that the restaurant agreed to take CC. Good luck to you as well!

  4. July 21, 2009 10:41 am

    The good thing is that you are not going into debt for this! Imagine charging that much and not having the money to pay it off. The stress that would cause.

    Oh, and I will reveal my car purchase once I get my hands on it! 🙂

  5. July 22, 2009 12:40 pm

    I keep separate funds for spending that I don’t tally in my net worth, that way it doesn’t hurt (as much) when those funds get spent. I need to pay off my credit card, the grace period is almost up and there is a $3000 diamond ring on there. Good luck with all the wedding planning and budgeting.

Leave a Reply

