Skip to content

Shoes

July 23, 2009

I am the proud owner of $125 in Nordstrom gift cards! I really want to buy designer jeans (and they are having a sale!), but after opening my jeans drawer and seeing that I have many many pairs, I decided that they can wait.

What I really need are some new brown work shoes.  My old ones aren’t comfortable (were probably the wrong size from the start), are a little beat up, and most of all, they are flat and I want a slight heel.  My office is casual enough that pretty much any shoe would go — I see people in very strappy sandals, wedges, open toes, etc.    So don’t get hung up on which are the most professional shoes.  Here is what I found available in my size online.

brownshoes I probably will not listen to your vote 100% and just buy which ever shoe I want.  But just for fun, which would you buy?  [I think I know what I’m going to get already.]

  1. Report ‘Rylee’ Wedge, $49.90.
  2. Rudy and Bloom ‘Trisha’ pump, $59.00
  3. Magdesians ‘Ann’ Pump, $84.95.
  4. Trotters ‘Maxine’ Pump, 94.95
  5. Other: Brown, size 8, regular width, pump, low to mid-heel (~1″ to 2.25″), less than $125, from Nordstrom.

Leave a comment, tweet your vote, or just use the poll below.   (which may have accidentally showed up in your feed reader in a post by itself.  Sorry, it was my first try making a poll!)  You’ll have to click through if you are reading this in a reader to participate!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Bonnie permalink
    July 23, 2009 7:05 am

    I like 2 and 4.

  2. July 23, 2009 7:48 am

    I say go for #1, maybe #2 but definitely not 3 or 4.

  3. July 23, 2009 8:02 am

    I voted for #1. I like the bow detail on #2, but i’m not a fan of the heel. Shoe #3 looks a bit dated, and 4 is alright, but it looks painful to wear, especially if the leather is hard. I think you should go to a Nordstrom though and see what else they have (usually they have different shoes in the store). If you don’t like what you see, you can still order the shoe you saw online through them and have it shipped to their store for free. Nordstrom Rack also has a huge selection – there’s a good one in Costa Mesa with lots of shoes.

  4. July 23, 2009 8:16 am

    @LA Daze – You are right, I probably should go to the store — maybe this weekend. Shopping online is so convenient to me — no traffic, you can easily sort by size/color… except when what you wanted isn’t what you get! Nordstrom Rack seems exhausting/busy on a weekend, the one in the Howard Hughes center anyway. I haven’t been to the costa mesa one.

  5. July 23, 2009 10:28 am

    I like one and four 🙂

  6. elcheapofinance permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:07 pm

    I’m probably one of the few dudes voting (for women’s shoes no less hahaha) but I prefer #4. Actually they all look okay except for #3. Number three smacks of 3rd grade language arts teacher.

  7. July 24, 2009 9:49 am

    @el cheapo – I actually like #4 the best too, and so did my boyfriend (the only other guy that I know offered an opinion!)

    But while peep toes are fine for work, they do require my toenails to always be presentable (which they sometimes aren’t..), plus they may be uncomfortable, so I probably will get 1 and/or 2

    I am not even sure why I included 3 as I wasn’t really considering them. 🙂

  8. July 24, 2009 3:45 pm

    #1, definitely. It’s classic with a twist and looks super comfy.

Leave a Reply

