Skip to content

Current Wish List

July 24, 2009
  • Rice Cooker
  • New brown work pumps (mid/low heel)
  • Shower shelf/caddy
  • A couple new bathroom towels
  • New bedding
  • New couch pillows
  • New foundation
  • Book to start planning honeymoon: Tour Mont Blanc (Walking) (not for sure that we are doing that yet)
  • Book to research Patagonia treks (at advice of a reader — thanks!)
  • Nike + Ipod Sport Kit
  • Sock/Underwear refresh
  • Textbook for work (I doubt they’d buy it for me)

I probably won’t be getting the bedding or couch pillows anytime soon.  The rice cooker probably can wait as well.  I will  flip through the books in the store before buying, and probably will wait until I’ve had more time for some free internet research.

The rest of it I hope to work into the budget in August/September.   Considering what a failure July was budget wise, it may be difficult, since I’ll still be trying to make up for lost ground.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2009 4:01 pm

    * Rice Cooker = I tried the cheap ones. The Asian ones work the best and last the longest. My parents’ have had theirs for 30 years!!!

    * New foundation = Have you tried Bare Minerals? I love that stuff. It took me a while to learn how to put it on, but now it’s like I’m not wearing ANY foundation. It rocks. Especially over a Smashbox primer.

    And it’s got some titanium in it to block out SPF. If not, the Smashbox primer has SPF 15 and 30 in it 😀

  2. Christine permalink
    July 24, 2009 11:17 pm

    btw, on patagonia, we did all of our research online! there is tons of information out there on the treks and the places to stay and we pretty much planned the entire thing without an actual book. put the book money towards your trip. 🙂

  3. SP permalink*
    July 25, 2009 8:31 am

    Thanks — I’ll come to you FB when/if I actually purchase the rice cooker!

    I know books aren’t necessary, but i have an unexplained desire to own travel books as part of the planning process. 🙂 We’ll see — I’ll have more time to research in September,

  4. Sarah permalink
    July 29, 2009 6:15 pm

    Regarding the rice cooker, I am Indian so I eat rice pretty regularly. I bought a 3 cup rice cooker for $8 at Walgreens and it still works 2 yrs later.

  5. August 3, 2009 1:36 pm

    Moneyapolis just bought a new one from Target, I’m sure she’ll report on its performance soon.

    Other than that, I know that Zojirushi (with the cute elephant!) is a respectable brand. I can’t speak to cost because I haven’t bought a rice cooker in years, but I’ll need one when I move out.

Trackbacks

  1. My Current Wish List « Fabulously Broke in the City
  2. Things I want | A Gai Shan Life

Leave a Reply

