Skip to content

But I’ll just have a simple wedding!

July 30, 2009

I’ve only heard one person say they wanted an over-the-top extravagant wedding, and she’s practically fictional anyway:  “I want to have the most extravagant wedding ever. I want flowers galore, I want jewels. And my dress is very swan-princess–esque, so I want real swans. I want the cake to be white-chocolate–mousse-vanilla-truffles, with berries in it!” ~Heidi Montag

I’m assuming you aren’t as much of a nut as her and don’t aspire to look like a… swan princess?  Still, simple weddings seem quite elusive!  Especially when you get parents involved.  Or when you start looking at $200 wedding shoes.  Please talk me out of (into?) that idea.

I wanted a simple, low stress wedding.  It hasn’t been too bad (yet), but there have already been some struggles and it is going to be way more expensive than I ever would have guessed. T’s parents finally figured out how expensive the party in the Midwest they are insisting on will be, and still are deciding what (if anything) to contribute to our party here.  So much for “whatever you want!”, but that comes with the territory if parents are gifting money.  My parents have still been cool about it, though my mom has asked me like 7 times about her “mother of the bride” dress for a beach wedding.  I have no idea what to tell her!

There is no meat in this post.  The wedding is getting closer and I’m alternately annoyed and excited to plan it.  I think it’ll all come together well enough, but I’m really just not sure, and I have all this other stuff going on, but if I don’t take care of the details, who will?  Where is the wedding fairy when you need her?  How do people create entire blogs devoted to their weddings?  I sort of wish I had that kind of energy for this.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2009 4:46 am

    When is your wedding? I’ve heard the same thing too, that there’s no way to “keep it simple..” and that secretly scares me from ever wanting to plan one. Just keep remembering the reason you’re getting married and try not to get mugged down into the wedding as much as the “getting married” part–the “I’m marrying my best friend” detail. 😉 Good luck!

  2. July 30, 2009 4:57 am

    But you can wear those $200 shoes again… *enable.. enable*

    Well I think every bride feels like this — they just want this day here & over. But it all won’t matter after the day is done (the stress I mean, the debt, if any.. will follow you and haunt you maybe even 10 yrs later, not to scare you) ….because you may not remember all the little details but you will remember the day being perfect

  3. July 30, 2009 7:17 am

    I’ll have ivory j. crew satin peep-toes in a size 7.5 that you can borrow if wearing other people’s shoes doesn’t freak you out too much. They cost $250 and sometimes I wear them around the apartment because I love them so much.

  4. July 30, 2009 9:23 am

    Good luck!!!

  5. July 30, 2009 10:28 am

    Make sure you buy shoes that you can wear again! Not just for your wedding. They’ll be covered by your dress anyways…wait…that’s if you dress is long. All I can say is, good luck!

  6. July 30, 2009 5:33 pm

    Don’t listen to FB, nothing good can come of that. 😀

    If the shoes aren’t something you can plot at least a few more wears with, don’t spend that kind of money on it. You can reclaim SOME part of your wedding by making some compromises on things other people won’t see anyway.

    I’m keeping fairly busy, but not so much that I couldn’t volunteer to help with something if you like. Email me!

  7. July 30, 2009 7:31 pm

    I saw white “Just Married” flip flops that made me giggle. It all sounds stressful though 😦

  8. Shannon permalink
    July 31, 2009 6:40 am

    Yeah, I thought for sure I’d buy inexpensive shoes for my wedding, then I went to this little boutique that specialized in wedding shoes and fell in love with an adorable pair of Victorian style white satin booties. And I spent $200 on them (and that was on sale!).

    I got married in the winter so boots were actually practical, and they had much more ankle support then wedding-style shoes, which was a concern for me b/c I have bad feet. And they were so adorable, everyone who saw them went nuts over them. At one point during picture taking I was walking along holding my dress up to keep it off the ground and a woman I passed called out, “Great boots!”

    Actually, I would advise not to skimp out too much on the shoes – you’ll be on your feet for hours and you want to be comfortable.

  9. SP permalink*
    August 3, 2009 3:31 pm

    @myprettypennies – April, so I have time. You can keep it simple if you really really are committed to it, but it is hard!

    @paranoid asteroid – I wouldn’t feel weird, but i’m an 8 (so close!) and I think all the JCREW heels are taller than I want. T is only 3″ taller, so I’m thinking 2 at the most, but I want them as low as possible without being ugly (which is the challenge — low shoes just aren’t very cute in general it seems0

    @revanche – I’m kinda leaning away from fancy shoes. My wardrobe generally isn’t fancy and I’m not even a shoe fetish person, so it really doesn’t make much sense to focus on that detail. It’s just so easy to get sucked into it all! Thanks for the offer — I will be sure to email!

    @Anny – it is a little, but really, you only have to spend as much time/stress on it if you want to!

    @shannon – your boots sound fabulous! Now I’m torn again. To skimp on shoes, or not? 🙂

  10. August 18, 2009 3:33 pm

    Don’t wear shoes. For one, beaches (sand) and shoes don’t mix. Second, bare feet will be so much more comfy and you’ll end up ditching your shoes at some point anyway.

  11. Sp permalink*
    August 18, 2009 4:14 pm

    @slinky – yeah, no shoes on the beach is an option (or flip flops). But when we have dinner in the restaurant, bare feet are no longer an option. 🙂

Leave a Reply

