Skip to content

July NetWorthIQ and Budget Report

August 5, 2009

I calculated my net worth as of August 4th since I was on vacation and didn’t get around to doing it earlier.  I’m happy to report I broke $40k this month, largely due to gains in my retirement accounts.  Between my employer and I, $1,600 was contributed in July, but the balance increased by $4900.

Cash didn’t do so well — I can explain $110 of the short fall to a eye appointment that I need to figure out how to get reimbursed from my HSA, but there is some $400 more that was accounted for either this month or last month.  Some of it (~$200?) is travel expenses billed to August, which will resolve itself, but I haven’t figured out the rest.   Hmmm… ???

Wedding deposits started to deplete the wedding fund:  $1500 for food/catering and $850 to the photographer.  The car fund also decreased due to new brakes which we were glad we got before driving on the winding mountain roads.

Budget
I always meet my budget, because if I don’t, I adjust it to accommodate!  But seriously, I spent more than I intended in a few key areas.

  • Home:  $300 towards a TV.  Home budget is typically $30-$50
  • Clothes:  I started off with a modest purchase for $50 for a summer handbag and cardigan.  Then I stocked up on basics (plain t-shirts and tanks) plus a new pair of work pants.  This was another $100 when all was said and done.
  • Restaurants:  I reigned us in early on, but my share was still $92, not counting vacation restaurants

Home was a one-time anomaly, and clothes are the eternal struggle.  I want to pick out something cute to wear for engagement photos (sometime in September), so I will be looking around a bit, but I’ll try to remember that if I want my yearly average to stay under $100/mo, I need to be much more careful.  We ate out a ton on vacation (which I throw under “Travel” so hopefully we can do better this month and get back into a once a week (or less!) pattern

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2009 6:56 am

    Congrats on reaching the +$40K! That is awesome!!

  2. August 6, 2009 6:45 pm

    I just stumbled upon your blog and I love it! I will be reading it often. Thanks.

  3. dunkmoxx permalink
    August 7, 2009 9:29 pm

    Nice job on 40K net worth…quick question How did you add those bars on the side? I have a blog at domainname.wordpress too but everything I copy a link something posts online it doesn’t work..

  4. August 8, 2009 9:58 am

    Congrats on increasing your net worth!

Leave a Reply

