Skip to content

Personal Finance Plus

August 11, 2009

I like having a blog, and I like tracking and sharing my financial information. But I’m getting tired of the personal finances focus. I haven’t decided what this means long term, since my blog name is quite obviously financial.  But I’m not running my blog as a business,so it really doesn’t matter much.

So, you might be seeing some more posts that have absolutely no financial angle from me.  I often throw a sentence or two at the end to tie in finances (because it is pretty easy), but if I have something to say that can’t be tied to finances, I’m going to say it anyway.

Just a warning in case you are on an “all pf, all the time” blog diet.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2009 8:22 pm

    I think it would be great to see some posts on other things that affect/effect (I never know which one to use) you…. makes things more interesting, and if they happen to have a PF swing, great, if not – that’s okay too!

  2. August 11, 2009 8:33 pm

    Likewise! All pf, all the time (esp when following a LOT of blogs) can get a bit much. I actually like non-pf posts! 🙂

  3. August 11, 2009 8:50 pm

    SP: So true! No one says it has to be all PF, all the time. 🙂 Sometimes the emphasis is on the “personal”, sometimes the “financial”.

    Jessie:

    Affect means to influence / impact: i.e. The tropical storm affected the health of the coral reefs.

    Effect means a result or a consequence or to mean “to bring about”: i.e. The effect of the tropical storm was devastating.

    Usually, affect is used as a verb and effect is used as a noun. Hope that helps!

  4. August 11, 2009 9:05 pm

    Yay! I can’t wait to read more non-pf posts! Hey, it’s your blog and you can do whatever you want to do with it 🙂 I’ll still be here reading!

  5. August 11, 2009 9:17 pm

    Thanks guys! Now that I think about it, I’m pretty sure that none of my readers really mind — I guess I just needed to give myself permission.

  6. August 11, 2009 10:20 pm

    Heh, I had the same problem a long time ago. Things got pretty boring, when you’re waiting 2 weeks for the next paycheck.

  7. August 12, 2009 4:47 am

    Permission granted! I think you’ve established yourself so well as a blogger that whatever you write would be gladly accepted by your readers. Looking forward to what’s coming up! 🙂

  8. August 12, 2009 5:34 am

    Let the non-pf posts begin! 🙂

  9. August 12, 2009 6:02 am

    I don’t mind! I like reading whatever! 🙂

  10. Bonnie permalink
    August 12, 2009 6:02 am

    Your blog is a favorite of mine regardless of the type of posts! 🙂

  11. August 12, 2009 6:18 am

    Whoo-hoo! I know I sometimes veer way strong to the personal side of the personal finanance, but that’s what keeps it fun for me. I was worried for a minute you were going to stop blogging at all!

    As Schatz said “Let the non-pf posts begin!”

  12. August 12, 2009 7:59 am

    I started my blog with “just PF posts” in mind, but then I wanted a place to write about my daily thoughts and feelings as well. And I think that as long as I talk about personal finance 50% of the time, I’ll be okay. At least I hope I am. Readers haven’t been complaining yet!! 🙂 I’ll always read your blog, even if you stop talking about money altogether!

  13. elcheapofinance permalink
    August 12, 2009 7:58 pm

    Just say it, we’ll ain’t going anywhere. Honestly, I find the wedding/hiking/exercise/T stories/shopping/woman’s shoes (haha) talk just as interesting if not more than the PF stuff. If I want to get preached at, I’ll just read FreeMoneyFinance… 😀

  14. August 15, 2009 3:32 am

    I prefer the mix of less PF more fun… honestly, if I want to read all PF there are a million blogs out there telling me I am going about my life the wrong way lol

    I prefer REAL personal finance and that includes shopping 😀

  15. August 26, 2009 12:05 pm

    I feel the same way. Trying to focus on personal finance all the time was causing me not to post as much. Now that I feel as if I can write about my life and other random thoughts I actually look forward to posting. I also like to see how other topics end up tying up nicely with personal finance. We all must grow!

Leave a Reply

