Skip to content

August Shopping

August 13, 2009

I gave myself permission to talk about non-pf stuff (as though I hadn’t already been doing it!), thinking it would spark a lot of new posts.   Hmmm, not so much.

I already failed one of my goals, which was no clothing.  I’ve been stalking this dress from Old Navy in blue as a possible dress for engagement photos.  I don’t wear dresses often, so I don’t want to spend a lot, and I want something casual and cute.  Except I think at ON I need XS, and by the time I decided to order it, I only managed to snag a S.  We’ll see if it fits.  (They were all out in-store — I wanted to try it on.)  If I had found a cute blue dress that was more expensive, I might have been open to it, but none of my usual stores had anything casual enough.

Oh, and since they were charging me $7 shipping anyway, why not try out a ruffle trim cardigan and (inexplicably) teal shoes?  Uh. . .   Fail!  I do like having clothing come right to my house, and returns are a short bike ride away. And I’m convinced the cardigan was a good idea.

I might take the shoes back, I’ll have to see how they look and how many things I have that I can wear them with.  What would you pair the teal shoes with?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. cuteellaisbold permalink
    August 13, 2009 7:28 am

    I think the question really is, “What wouldn’t I wear Teal Flats with?”

    I can think of no less than 5 pairs of pants, 2 skirts and a dress that I’d wear those shoes with.

    Khaki, chocolate, black, charcoal, grey…oh dear they are lovely!

  2. August 13, 2009 8:02 am

    I’m so glad they were out of my size in that dress (all colors, I checked) because I would’ve wanted one in each color! lol. Nice choice.

    Is that what you paid for the shoes? Hmm, for $45 I personally wouldn’t have gotten them. (Considering it was an unplanned purchase.) Not that they aren’t cute though, they are. I agree with the comment above too, you can wear them with anything! Dress them up or down. That’s the nice thing about flats.

    Ugh, I’m still disappointed that dress sold out in my size….

    • SP permalink*
      August 13, 2009 9:55 am

      Oh and I’d keep checking, they regularly change which sizes are sold out. Which is why I’ve been stalking it for a week. 🙂 You can start stalking it with me. let me know if blue XS shows up again. 😉

  3. August 13, 2009 8:03 am

    Oh…BR teal shoes…I hope they fit comfortably. I’ve had bad luck with all BR shoe purchases.

    But I love the color of them! I’d wear them with jeans, white jeans, white skirts, as an added pop to straight legged trousers (for work), they’d also look cute with one of those dress + leggings combo.

  4. August 13, 2009 8:46 am

    Ohhh that dress is super cute. I don’t usually shop at Old Navy, but might need to check it out the next time I’m at the mall.

  5. SP permalink*
    August 13, 2009 9:55 am

    @krystal – I have pretty much phased out Old Navy, but I think I can deal with their (typically) lower quality on a dress since I don’t wear them constantly.

    @LA Daze – these are my first BR shoes — thanks for the warning! I’ll take them back if they are not comfy

    @QL – yeah, $45. You are right, a spendy impusle buy!

  6. Kayla permalink
    August 13, 2009 2:02 pm

    I like the dress. I think it’s very pretty. It will probably look good in Engagement photos, I’d think. As for ordering more with it…well, they’ll look nice, and if they don’t, you can always return them.

  7. August 14, 2009 1:36 pm

    I have that cardigan and gt compliments on it every time I wear it!
    Colored flats look good paired with just about anything. I like doing something neutral with the bright shoes (e.g. black pants, gray sweater, red shoes).

Leave a Reply

