Skip to content

I want a new bike

August 17, 2009

I got a new bike in April.  Apparently, yes, I was too impulsive and I should have waited to figure out what was best for me.  I got a hybrid bike, mostly because road bikes are expensive and I’m not going to be a daily bike commuter, so I figured it would do.

And it does “do”.  I can get to the shops.  But it is such a slow ride and the bike is way too heavy.  It is not horrible, but never want to go on long bike rides.    It turns out, I really really want a road bike.   I want something lighter and faster.

T‘s been watching Craigslist for me, and we looked at one this weekend.  I thought it was way way better than the one I had (it was) but he said we should wait for a better deal and bike.  Ok.  This time I won’t be too impulsive.  Then we’ll deal with selling mine.  I don’t have a bike fund, but I can always make the numbers work (by saving less).

T got an amazing deal on his bike (one I don’t hope to match).  I’m hoping to spend about $250 on a used bike, but willing to go a little higher if needed.   I’m buying used, because I’d have to be a serious bicyle enthusiast before I’d be ready to spend the $800-$5000 a new road bike costs.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2009 7:50 am

    Will you try to sell the bike you have now to go towards the cost of a new-used one?

  2. Erin A permalink
    August 17, 2009 3:12 pm

    I want a new bike as well but don’t know what I want! I want to do all my research but I also just want something to ride soon. Good luck with your search.

  3. August 19, 2009 4:01 am

    How often do you ride? I suppose you’re in a pretty flat area so it is really easy to ride around. I bought a bike last year but haven’t really used it as much as I wanted because my neighborhood is so hilly and lots of traffic…. I’m afraid I’m going to topple over and cause all kinds of traffic problems. Eek!

  4. August 30, 2009 8:36 am

    I bought a road bike and avoided getting a mountain bike just because of the heavy weight

    It’s NASTY to ride the mountain bikes in town… And I love the road bike, even though I am now kind of lemming after that $5000 super light weight aluminum one.

    *sigh* I am never going to buy it here, but I want it because it’s soooo light

    I got totally outfitted for biking for $700 (helmet, biking shorts, kick stand, water bottle, pouch, and bell)

    But BF got his for $300 but he had his helmet and all of the other things like biking shorts and a pouch already.

Trackbacks

  1. I got a new bike! (Wait, didn’t I already write this post once?) « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

