Skip to content

I got a new bike! (Wait, didn’t I already write this post once?)

August 19, 2009

I spoke too soon — by the time my post went live Monday morning, we already purchased a new used road bike for me!  It’s a 1996 LeMond something with good components and in really good shape.  (Can you tell I don’t know a lot about bikes?  I entrusted T with the task of watching Craigslist and looking for a good deal.)  They were asking $300, we offered $250, drove nearly 45 minutes to get it, and now I have it and I’m happy.

It needed new tires, new pedals (came with clip style), and new bar tape, which T procured for me for about another $65 or so.  It could eventually use a full tune up, which will be $65, but no rush.

Yes, we’ll try to sell my old bike on Craigslist.  I think we’ll start high, but maybe accept something as low as $125.  But I hope we can get more.  I don’t know the CL market that well.

Here is a funny pf angle.  When T was doing all the emailing and contacting people, he would mention he was looking for a bike for his fiance.  When we went to pick it up, I withdrew the cash from my bank account at the ATM, and he said he’d hold onto it, if I wanted.  He was pretending he was buying the bike for me!  I went along with it (why not?), and the woman we bought it from said “have him buying you some touring shoes too.  And a bike computer.”  As if I just asked and he buys me whatever I want!  Ha ha ha.  But I didn’t correct her. 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2009 7:50 am

    Awesome! Looks like you got a pretty good deal on a road bike. I’m going to have to start stalking CL for one.

  2. August 19, 2009 4:48 pm

    Nice! What color is it?

  3. August 19, 2009 5:36 pm

    @LA Daze – T says it is a alpe d’huez in titanium. like this http://www.renaissancebicycles.com/images/top-secret-projects/lemond-alpe-d-huez.jpg but pretty sure mine is older.

  4. Kayla permalink
    August 20, 2009 4:05 pm

    Nothing like feeling like a golddigger for a day. 😛

    The bike sounds awesome, though. I hope it works well for you! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. PF Blogs Make Me Want To Spend | Oilandgarlic's Blog

Leave a Reply

