Skip to content

What do you bring for lunch?

August 22, 2009

I’m not a huge fan of PB&J, though that is my go-to “I didn’t make anything else” lunch, ideally with a yogurt  or whatever else I can scrounge up.

I like lunch to be something I look forward to and enjoy, even though I usually take short lunch breaks.  I go through phases and make one thing for awhile, then I get sick of it and find something new.  Salads and pastas are the easiest to batch cook, so when I’m busy, I make those a lot.

In the past couple months I’ve made a version of this Couscous Salad several times, but I skip the lentils mostly because I don’t feel like cooking them.  For a more well rounded meal, you probably should keep them in.  I also just mix a little arugula (or sometimes spinach, but arugula is better) right in instead of making it more of a leafy salad, and I’ve made something similar with no salad greens at all.  (I’ve gotten a little more confident deviating from recipes.)

I also made this Red Pepper Fettuccine for dinner twice recently, and it is easy to set aside leftovers for work.  We just bought ingredients again.  It’s really easy and yummy.  This Sausage with Rotini Pasta (via Money Maus‘s tweet originally) also made a ton of leftovers to bring for lunch.

A couple weeks ago I made some gazpacho for a huge does of veggies, served with croutons for a crunch.

For next week, I’m planning on eating a tomoato, basil and mozerrella sandwich (which you can’t really batch cook), and I got ingredients for this baked quinoa dish that I can bring as a side dish.

Some non-lunch food notes:

For dinner tonight/tomorrow, I have ingredients for these portabella sandwiches.  We are cheating and bought the roasted red peppers and pesto pre-made at Trader Joe’s, which will speed up prep time significantly.   I’m already excited.

We’ve also been making these Parmesan Turkey Burgers (we make full size) pretty regularly, and they are delicious and easy too!

What are some of your latest hits in the kitchen? What has been in your lunch bag lately?

(This post is in response to LA Daze‘s question on my previous post)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2009 5:40 pm

    Peanut and I take leftovers when we cook, but we haven’t been doing much of that lately with the heat.

    My favorite lunch right now is a turkey sandwich with swiss cheese and sliced pickles (all ingredients from Costco) with some baby carrots (also from Costco) and salt and vinegar chips (sadly, not available at Costco). For a snack, sometimes I will take a pear and a single-serve package of string cheese.

    When we are cooking, some of my favorite things to bring are spaghetti, fried rice, burritos, couscous and chicken salads.

  2. August 22, 2009 6:12 pm

    mmm… lunch!

  3. August 22, 2009 8:21 pm

    I’ll go in phases… bagels and cream cheese / cereal (with fruit!) / salads / cheese, tomato, pickle and cucumber sandwiches / oatmeal / english muffins with peanut butter… and my favorite? leftover pizza, or chicken carbonara from buca! I’ll also bring apples and peanut butter, cherries, pretzles or crackers and cheese for snacks.

  4. August 24, 2009 11:00 am

    Thanks for this! I’ve been out of the blog world the whole weekend, so i’m just now catching up. The red pepper fettuccine looks really good! Today I made a boring tuna sandwich for lunch, but that’s because i’m trying to finish all my food before I go out and purchase new things.

  5. August 24, 2009 12:07 pm

    Today’s lunch is last night’s leftovers – thai yellow curry with fried tofu. On weekends I try to make big dishes that can be parcelled out for lunches during the week. The curry was last night’s dinner for both of us and I had enough left for three lunches. I put lunch sized portions in tupperware and then freeze them for later. That way I don’t have to eat 3 curry lunches this week! I also buy some frozen meals from trader joes and ralphs, in case I don’t feel like eating my own cooking.

Leave a Reply

