Skip to content

I failed in August

August 31, 2009

I’m not even going to bother with a detailed goal review of my August goals, because I’ll tell you right now.  I failed!

The one thing I did accomplish was finishing out my class with an A, and that was certainly my highest priority.  But as far as finances go, I spent far far too much on restaurants, clothes, and alcohol.

It was a month with plenty of wine, some sangria, and even more wine.  There is nothing like a chilled white on a hot day, except for saving the money.  Even at $7/bottle (typical price of the ones we’ve been liking from TJ’s), it adds up.   I refuse to give the number because it is embarrasing!

Restaurants… i don’t know what happened here.  Well I do actually — our (not so) new neighborhood has a million delicious offerings, many within walking distance, few at a reasonable price.  Two burritos for $17?  I mean seriously!  And we just weren’t careful about it

And clothes!  I started out the month stocking up on a few basic t-shirts I found on sale.  And a cardigan.  And bright teal flats.  While on a mission to find a dress I liked for engagement photos (why I have my heart set on a dress is beyond me, but I do.  A blue one.), I also picked up another work shirt and uh, a dress for going out.  In my defense, the going out dress has been on my wish list for over a year, and when I do go out, I always hate whatever I’m wearing (usually jeans and a so-so top).

I did find a dress for the photos — a casual blue Calvin Klein dress that miraculously was $27.  It had no price tag and they found a semi-similar one for $65 and said they’d charge me that.  I found another semi-similar one (in an odd size, granted) for $35 and asked if they could charge me that instead.  The saleswoman was agreed, and there must have been some additional sale going on to make it even cheaper.  It is probably going to cost more to have it altered to fit me, but I really hope it works out.  I hate shopping!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2009 6:16 pm

    You can never have too many dresses!!!!!!! 🙂 Pics? 😀

  2. August 31, 2009 7:47 pm

    If the alterations work out, maybe there will be a pick. I only found one tiny picture online and it looks horrible!

Leave a Reply

