Skip to content

Wedding To Do list

September 8, 2009

I may have mentioned (400 times) that I don’t have classes this month.  Thus, I scheduled September to the max, and I also hope to get a chunk of wedding planning completed.  My wedding theory is that planning can take as much time as you want it to, or as little time as you want it to (within reason).  I’m going to stick on the lower end, but I still need to nail down some large pieces… like uh, the ceremony…

September

  • Put down deposit for ceremony site & coordinator and stuff
  • Pick out (and maybe order?) invitations
  • Update the wedding website (yes I really have one) with details I figured out
  • Make sure T has asked his friends to be groomsmen (he still hasn’t!!)
  • Pick out and order wedding bands
  • Take engagement photos (yay!!!!)
  • Get a list of suggested hotels in the area up on the website

In general (probably can wait until Christmas break, but we’ll see)

  • Centerpieces of some sort
  • Cake
  • Favors (if we want them)
  • Help my parents find a beach house to rent (vrbo.com or similar)
  • See if one of my cute cousins of the right age are going to be attending and want to be flower girls (no special dress required)

Accomplishments already this month

  • I got two pairs of sandals that might work, and will return (at least one) after I try them on with the dress.  Either can be worn again, in real life.
  • We found some people experienced in doing outdoor weddings on public sites for what seems to be a reasonable price (no contract yet, so, we’ll see).  I feel a lot better knowing someone else (not me or a family member/friend) can take care of the details.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 7:43 am

    how exciting!

  2. September 8, 2009 7:57 am

    Have fun! I have 3 days of planning left and I’m ready for it to be over!

  3. September 9, 2009 2:37 pm

    I’m not sure how useful this will be for you, but I just ran across this link you might like: http://recycledbride.com/

  4. September 10, 2009 10:20 am

    It sounds like you are a busy, busy bee. At least you don’t have classes in Sept. This will give you the perfect opportunity to focus on your wedding. I’m sure the wedding website will be fun to create. Remember to try to add a lot of valuable resources for your guests, such as event information, local attractions and links to your gift registry.

    I hope you have a great wedding! Don’t stress yourself our too much.

    Cheers!
    Mary

  5. September 10, 2009 9:26 pm

    Oooh, I’m going to check out R’s link. Hopefully I’ll be planning a wedding soon, I know there is an engagement ring some where in this house but the annoying boy is sitting on it, making me wait. How much is a coordinator going to be? I’m not sure I’ll need one but it might take some of the stress off and no one I know is that organized. Hope the planning goes well.

  6. September 10, 2009 11:49 pm

    @Forest – you made it! I’m ready for planning to be over, but i guess someone has to do it

    @revanche – concept is great, but there don’t seem to be many listings. Yet?

    @miss m – we are getting sort of an all in one package (i think) with (some) flowers, site, chairs, set up, music, arch, coordination minister, license, etc… for $1700 (including 9.25% tax) total for 50 chairs. It also comes with (amateur) photography, but we are getting a professional — we’d want photos of the reception dinner anyway. I tried to go the DIY beach/outdoor space route at first, but chairs became an issue immediately… and it probably still would have been at least $1k when it was all said and done.

    You might be fine without a pro if you have it at an actual “location”, but anyone I know that I’d trust to handle stuff, I’d want to enjoy the day with us.

    I’m not very fussy about wedding stuff in general, so a package is perfect for me. I can send you the link (and let you know how it goes) if you end up considering going the public space route. (I have a feeling some people might find that idea cheesy or tacky, but whatever.)

Leave a Reply

