Skip to content

It would be really really easy

September 11, 2009

It would be really easy to spend every dollar I take home each month. If I cut out my retirement contributions, it would be a bit harder, but I’m sure I could manage it.  Designer shoes?  Sure, why not?!

This month is tough.  I generally do a good job with my savings, but I do not hesitate to drop my cash savings by $50 in a month order to allow us to go out for a night if something comes up.  I’ll only be young once, I only feel like going to clubs once every six months (or less), so if the moment seems right, I’ll spend the money and seize the day.  In general, no, a single night out is not usually worth $50.  But on occasion, yes, it really is.

September is full of seizing the day.

I’m taking a vacation day today.  We have some old friends in town, which is my main excuse, but I really just want a day off.  Even if it means working 9 and 10 hour days next week. I’m sleeping in a little, then going for  a  run on the beach.  Lunching with my friends, perhaps going to the Getty (if they want) or laying on the beach.

Today will be relatively cheap, but tonight, we’re going O-U-T. I hope at least, no firm plans yet. I love a good excuse to get dressed up and go out on the town.  I like being in a crowded club with loud music, weak overpriced drinks (ok, that is not my preference, that is just how they come) and dancing (badly).    I like pretending like I’m forever 25 (21 is just too young) and forever care-free.  I don’t like it enough to do it often, but I like it enough to be excited about it when I make it happen.

This post is a bit disjointed — I’m actually writing it Thursday night after 1.5 glasses of wine with said friends.  So whatever.

Honestly, I was going to write about how (I think) by the end of 2009 I’ll have made $50k in retirement contributions total.  But to get accurate numbers, I’d have to dig out tax forums, and it seemed like a lot of work.  Maybe later?

Happy Friday all!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2009 4:59 am

    Seize September! I don’t think there’s anything wrong with just taking a day off of work and of constraining finance. And I feel the same way about clubs! I rarely ever go, but that’s why it’s so fun when you’ve got the right people to go with. Have fun!!

  2. September 11, 2009 7:28 am

    Have a great day off!!! Enjoy it – you deserve it.

    (funny, I drank wine last night too)

  3. September 11, 2009 8:02 pm

    Happy Friday! I definitely agree – taking a much needed “Mental Health Day” as my mom used to call them is important, especially when friends are in town! 🙂

  4. September 14, 2009 12:23 pm

    It’s a lot easier to save when you get a few years older and have had enough of the partying lifestyle. Enjoy it while you’re young!

  5. SP permalink*
    September 14, 2009 12:30 pm

    @mpp – Exactly – it is fun to do it on occasion! This month is brutal on my finances, but for the most part, it is too late and I’m just accepting reduced wedding savings this month. 3 paycheck month coming up to boost!

    @ann – if only i could use sick leave for it! I’d feel way too guilty.

    @miss m – Oh I’ve definitely had enough of it as a lifestyle. But a couple times a year is still quite fun! Then I feel less guilty about it since it is so rare. But just doing other stuff adds up too.

Leave a Reply

