Skip to content

Accessorizing Failure

September 15, 2009

That is me!

So I have this dress in light blue:

I also own these shoes, which are a really light gold:

And… some silver shoes that I don’t care for as much, but could wear if I had too.

My question is, what the heck kind of necklace do I wear with that dress?! I don’t want something too bold/trendy, and preferably something that goes ok with the light gold shoes.  (Can you wear silver jewlery and gold shoes?  And my engagement ring is white gold, but can I wear gold necklaces still?)

I know everyone has their own style, but what you would wear?  Links to photos appreciated!  I’m such an accessorizing failure!

If you help me, I promise to post a photo of me in the dress with the necklace I ended up wearing!  (Obviously I’ll be headless.)  Etsy is totally fine for inspiration, but I think I’m headed to the 3rd street promenade in Santa Monica Thursday night and I must buy it then!   No time to wait for shipping!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. elle & ish permalink
    September 15, 2009 10:34 pm

    I’m not really one to mix metals (especially with a metallic shoe) so my suggestions will all be light or dark gold! 🙂

    I know the Promenade has both Forever 21 an Urban Outfitters, so here’s a few necklaces from there:

    F21 Lucite Rose necklace (a simple pendant can go with anything): http://www.forever21.com/product.asp?catalog_name=FOREVER21&category_name=acc_necklace&product_id=1064417579&Page=all

    F21 Geo Medallion Necklace (a long, delicate necklace is a more modern look) http://www.forever21.com/product.asp?catalog_name=FOREVER21&category_name=acc_necklace&product_id=1067868845&Page=all

    Urban O. “Asymmetrical Free Bird Necklace” (whimsical but elegant) Search for SKU #12721999 on their website

    Urban O. “UO Fringe Necklace” (this is a bit more trendy but the fringe is delicate) SKU #16907800

    F21 Textured Flower Bib Necklace (if you do decide to go trendy.. this is a showstopper) http://www.forever21.com/product.asp?catalog_name=FOREVER21&category_name=acc_necklace&product_id=1065576644&Page=all

    If all else fails, wear some dangly earrings and a bracelet! Completely fool-proof 😀

    Good luck!

  2. elle & ish permalink
    September 15, 2009 10:46 pm

    I forgot to add:

    – Spacing out your jewelry will make sure you don’t over-accessorize

    Ex: Don’t put on a cocktail ring on next to a big bangle, or don’t wear a statement necklace next to long dangly earrings.

    – Emphasize one area, tone down the rest.

    Hope this helps!

  3. El Cheapo permalink
    September 16, 2009 1:14 am

    Full disclosure: I’m a dude, so the only fashion rules I follow are (1) flat fronts are generally better than pleated and (2) belts and shoes should match. Oh also white socks are a no-no unless you’re paying tribute to MJ.

    I googled ‘azure dress’ and came back with this pic/link: http://www.courierpress.com/photos/2009/jun/22/41374 (From the looks of it, the lady in the prom-esque pic is wearing gold bangle thingys that match the gold shoes and a colorful necklace) Where you can buy this stuff, I have no idea!

    Good luck and have fun in SM.

  4. September 16, 2009 1:42 am

    That dress has such a nice neckline that I would consider not wearing a necklace. Maybe if you have your hair up, you can wear sparkly dangly earrings instead?

  5. September 16, 2009 6:34 am

    First, mixing metals is totally fine, especially if it’s your engagement ring. I can’t quite picture the color of your dress, but have you considered pearls? I like the idea of this necklace (although it may be too bold). Or this one.

    Another option is to skip the necklace (the dress has a pretty neckline), sweep your hair up, and go for a serious pair of earrings (e.g.).

    I think our aesthetic preference are pretty different, though. Me, I’d go for something bright red (but I’m picturing a really light blue, so who knows).

  6. September 16, 2009 6:43 am

    Yes – it is a really light blue — the color el cheapo has linked to, though not quite that style

    Thanks for the links — they are all good ideas and give me somewhere to start! I’ll be at F21 trying some on — seriously, thanks for the ideas guys!

    I almost never buy jewelery and just wear the same opal necklace every. single. day.

  7. September 16, 2009 12:43 pm

    I don’t have anything to add about the necklace, but I think the dress is supercute!

  8. September 16, 2009 1:27 pm

    Lovely dress and I adore the sandals especially! I love the idea from the above commenter to skip the necklace and go for a fab pair of earrings with some oomph! 😀 Have fun!

  9. September 16, 2009 2:50 pm

    If you have to wear a necklace, I would suggest a long necklace with a large pendant. That dress has such a pretty neckline, I would personally skip necklace and go with large flashy dangling earrings and a set of jingly bangles may be mixing silver and light gold colors. F21 has great bangles, if you only want it for one night. Love your gold sandals with that dress.
    Good luck and have fun!

  10. September 16, 2009 5:22 pm

    I agree with TD – I wouldn’t wear a necklace – go for some nice chunky wooden bangles/cuffs!

Leave a Reply

