Skip to content

Being a woman can be expensive

September 16, 2009

I don’t think it has to be.  But for me, this month, it sure has been.

I didn’t take much of the advice offered on my previous post asking about necklaces.  What is “in” right now are big and bold necklaces, made sound even cooler by referring to them as “statement necklaces”.  I get that.  I like them too, for the right occasion.  But what I neglected to mention is that the outfit was sort of for engagement photos, and the dress is pretty classic, so I ended up with classic simple jewelry.  A necklace with a small fake diamond sparkle and earrings.

Whatever.  It is quite understated, but at least I won’t look at it in a year (or 6 months!) and think, “what was I thinking?!”    By the way, pearls looked really great, but a little too… prissy?  They just weren’t quite the right look, though I might get some if an appropriate occasion comes up.

Then I zipped into Sephora for some expensive new make-up.  I’ve been using some pretty cheap stuff that worked ok (but not amazing) and wanted a little more coverage.  I actually wanted this set, but the shades weren’t quite right anyway.  I got the Smashbox foundation (even though they are mostly known for their primer) and some powder.  I’m considering permanently upping my make-up game if the products really seem better than my cheaper versions.  I don’t go through it quickly, so maybe it is worth it.  Maybe not though — we’ll have to see.

Then…. I stopped at a nail salon last minute and spent $20 + tip for a quick mani-pedi.  The salon was clean, but the service was super rushed and really not as attentive as I hoped.  But for $20, that is what you get, and my nails look way way way better than before, way better than they would have looked if I did them myself.

Oh, and tomorrow I’m getting a haircut that will come to just under $100.

OMG.  I never spend this much on “Personal Care” in one month.  These are the times when I regret that I so carefully track my spending and have to enter each and every item.    The only thing that will save me is next month is an elusive three paycheck month.  I need it!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2009 5:28 am

    Did I comment on the last post? (I meant to) Either way, I definitely agree. You don’t want your kids someday to look at them and think “ugh, what was mom thinking?! I’m so glad I wasn’t around to wear *that*!!” (Can anyone say “80’s?)

    Sounds like you made a good choice.

    As far as makeup and skincare goes, once upon a time I thought there was no difference between the cheap stuff, and the expensive stuff. Then I tried the good stuff. (Not the $100 stuff, though.) There really is a difference. Like you said you won’t be spending this much every month, so just make good use of what you’ve bought and move on.

    I hope those pictures come out well! I look forward to seeing at least one….even if your heads are cut off! lol.

  2. September 17, 2009 5:32 am

    Good choice on the necklaces.

    I would have gone with a statement piece, but that’s because I don’t think as far ahead into the future about the classic, timelessness of a photo the way you must have 🙂

    Smashbox is definitely my go-to for their primer, but for general makeup, I like mineral makeup.. although B.E. seems to make me break out.

    Am thinking of switching to Jane Iredale instead.

    And just think, you’re spending a lot on personal care this month, but some girls do it EVERY month! 🙂 Be happy that you’re so low maintenance.. haha 🙂

  3. September 17, 2009 6:55 am

    Well, plenty of people wear very stylish things for their engagement photos — so I think that is completely acceptable! And most people probably only really look at them in the months leading up to the wedding anyway! But really, the neckline didn’t work with many necklaces I tried and I’m picturing, say, a photo on the beach with a really big necklace… it just wasn’t working.

    I have been using (a less expensive) mineral make-up and I just don’t like the mess of it — and I don’t think that has anything to do with brand. So we’ll see — when this one runs out, I might try a new brand.

  4. September 20, 2009 9:58 am

    I heart MAC Foundation. I did makeup for awhile at Macys and before that nevere really saw a difference. And with the skincare line, I can honestly say I do. It’s an investment, but a worthy one. 🙂

  5. September 21, 2009 1:03 pm

    Yep, beauty isn’t free. I usually use MAC concealer (great coverage) and then mineral foundation. I like the mineral foundation because it only takes seconds to sweep on and looks really natural. I use a combo of the higher end make up and drug store brands to keep from breaking the budget. Sephora used to be the death of my paycheck! I now go drug store brands on trendy colors, I’d buy the nice stuff but only use a tiny fraction of it before I grew tired of the color or it went out of style.

Leave a Reply

