Skip to content

Fitness Bootcamp

September 22, 2009

A girl I hung out with this weekend was talking about a bootcamp she’s been doing, and I was inspired to look them up.  Hers isn’t really convenient for me, but I found one that would work out well for my schedule.  (Actually, I found them earlier this summer as well when I was trying to find my outdoor yoga class that never materialized.)

For 3 days a week of morning training, I’d pay $175.  The one I ran into had about 10 people in it.  Hey, did you know I had a fitness fund?  It is empty (see:  new used bike) and I need new running shoes (going on the birthday list!), but this is the perfect thing to use it for.  If it weren’t empty.

Why now?  I have no idea.  I like working out in the mornings, but was a little sketched out running by myself (even in a safe area) and really (for no reason) hate the idea of  joining a gym.  (But a gym would be much cheaper. . .)  I also don’t know much about strength training, so it would be nice to have a program to follow, even just for a month. I’m also starting a class again (boooo) so having a consistent fitness schedule will help me stay energized and focused (right??!)

Has anyone ever done one of these?

(I categorized this as fun… fitness = fun, right?)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2009 4:48 am

    I’ve secretly wanted to do one of these, and actually signed up for emails from a place. I ended not signing up because they were early (duh), and expensive. Not only do they look like fun (in a totally torturous way, of course…is that a real word?), but it looks like there’s a sense of community, which I think is the difference between going about on your own with a DVD or something as opposed to joining a group.

    Do they have a free trial class? Most places I’ve seen have that, it’d be worth looking into.

  2. Bonnie permalink
    September 22, 2009 6:39 am

    I’ve wanted to do one of these, too!

  3. September 22, 2009 6:46 am

    I haven’t done a bootcamp class but signing up for a class keeps me more motivated to exercise than just joining a gym. I’m not sure exactly why that is, but it works for me!

  4. September 22, 2009 8:04 am

    Myself and my husband did this a couple of times. Each time it was a month of 5:30 sessions down by the beach. We loved it – going out into the freezing dark and getting all warmed up. Plus the ass-kicking aspect got us doing exercises we just wouldn’t do by ourselves in the gym.

    Weird thing though was getting down there to the beach and seeing cars in the corners of the parking lot with solitary guys in them just sitting in the dark. We’d come back after an hour …. they’re still sitting there. Creepy.

  5. September 22, 2009 1:22 pm

    I’ve never done a bootcamp but I may do it as it gets closer to the wedding. I have signed up for a gym class three times a week that I love. I think it’s worth it to keep yourself accountable and it can be fun.

  6. September 22, 2009 3:44 pm

    I did a MWF 6am boot camp for about 1 1/2 years and loved it! Two friends did it with me and it became morning social hour and I got in great shape! I miss it!!

    GO FOR IT!

  7. karen permalink
    September 22, 2009 5:13 pm

    I currently do one on the beach. I enjoy it and made some friends even.

    Is it 175/wk? If I pay per class it’s $17 and then discounts for pre-paying (of course I’m on the other coast).

  8. September 22, 2009 7:12 pm

    @quarterlifegirl – they don’t talk abou ta free trial class, but maybe I could ask!

    @guinness416 – I”m glad you liked it, I think I’m going to try it. Thanks for all the positive comments!

    @sallie’s niece – if it is a success, maybe I’ll do it again before the wedding!

    @karen – It is actually $150 for 4 weeks, 3 days a week.

Leave a Reply

