Skip to content

Hi, blog!

September 29, 2009

This blog has been dwindling to mostly a list of goals and to-do lists and the like.  Perhaps the occasional shopping post.

I’m not sure what to do about it.  Accept it?  Set up a reasonable (but consistent!) schedule?  Take a hiatus until life settles down?  (However, I’m a firm believer that life is always busy, and if something is important to you, you make time for it.)

Anyway, here’s a few financial things of note that have happened lately.

Had an AMAZINGLY great weekend in my hometown. Until today when I missed my (budget airline) flight and had to book a brand new ticket on a different airline.  Non-direct.  My mom actually picked up the tab, but I gave her $100, and think I should likely send  her another $100.  I don’t have to, but I do think she would appreciate it, and it feels like the grown up thing to do.  I make and save plenty that it seem stingy not to. (The ticket was $330. . .)  By the way, I”m never going to speak of this incidident again, and told T that we are going to pretend it never happened (except take away a expensive valuable lesson about budget airlines and being early, which I usually am).

Bought tickets for a concert next month with a new friend:   $58 (and she still owes me for the same)

Planned the first birthday party for myself in several years, starting at our apartment then just going out.  I did that mostly because I don’t want people to be loud too late — neighbors!  We’ll probably spend money on some snacks  and drinks.  I didn’t say BYOB, but I assume some people will and others won’t.

Signed up for the fitness bootcamp after all.  I’ll be paying tomorrow!  It’s quite a huge money commitment for someone who claims gyms aren’t worth their monthly fee (!), but I think it’ll be interesting to try something new.

Debated whether or not I can pull off the colored wedding shoe trend, or if I’d just regret it.  I think I could do it. . .  Ok, this isn’t personal finance (until I buy the dang shoe), but still.  What do you think?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. cuteellaisbold permalink
    September 30, 2009 4:00 am

    I can’t imagine why you’d regret wearing a cute pop of color for your wedding! Seriously, I think its a fabulous idea.

  2. September 30, 2009 4:41 am

    You can pull it off if you think you can! It’s all about how confidently you wear them. Besides, unless your dress is a mini, chances are most people won’t see the shoes.

  3. September 30, 2009 6:16 am

    It’s not a short dress… but they always photographer the shoes! Especially if you wear fun colors…. Anyway, I’m thinking I will do it. I originally bought gold ones, but they actually seem to be too tall.

    Why might I regret it? Well…. have you seen the early 90s? 🙂

  4. September 30, 2009 6:24 am

    Oh good luck at the bootcamp. I think I’ll do one in the winter but I”m nervous! As for the shoes I say go for it! I’m thinking of getting some blue wedding shoes. I love the way they stand out in pictures but everyone won’t see them all the time.

  5. September 30, 2009 6:43 am

    What color are your bridesmaids’ dresses? I say do it. As long as it matches well with the wedding colors, why not? I would choose shoes that are beautiful, but also comfortable and not too high. My old roommate would walk around in her wedding shoes in the evenings to break them in.

  6. September 30, 2009 6:49 am

    @Sallie’s niece – thanks! I hope it goes well. I’m thinking blue as well.

    The BM dresses are light aqua blue, so I’ll probably go with that….

    Also, I’m wearing flats. I know, most flats are not very cute, but T is only 3 inches taller than me, I’ll be more comfortable, and my dress will be too short with tall heels. So I will find some cute ones!

  7. September 30, 2009 8:40 am

    My cousin had gorgeous colored shoes on her wedding. They actually matched the satin belt/wrap things on the bridesmaid dresses and were a nice pop of color on her. They photographed beautifully.

  8. September 30, 2009 10:21 am

    Go for the colored shoes! I went to a wedding wear the bride wore turquoise heels with a t-length dress and a peacock feather in her hair and it was so beautiful! 😀

  9. September 30, 2009 10:28 am

    Yes, get some blue flats! That will be your “something blue”. Let us know how the bootcamp goes!

  10. September 30, 2009 5:49 pm

    I think blue kitten heels (0.5 or an inch) would be lovely! Maybe with a little bow or a rosette on the front? I’m thinking that something with a slight heel might be easier to dance in than flats.

  11. September 30, 2009 6:24 pm

    Do it! I really wanted to, but when they sold out of the color I wanted, I had already fallen in love with the shoe, so I settled for Ivory.

  12. September 30, 2009 7:11 pm

    I say go for the colored wedding shoes. It’s such a fun trend!

  13. September 30, 2009 7:11 pm

    @wellheeled blog – I don’t disagree about the kitten heel — for dancing and just for whatever. Kitten heel would be my overall preference, but I’m worried even .5 inch will make my dress too short. Unfortunately there just isn’t much room at the bottom now that they ordered it in my size rather than 2-3 sizes too big that I originally tried on. 😦 It’s a little bit too bad, but that’s just the way it is and I’m sure I’ll still live happily ever after. And I’ll just dance in flats, I’m sure it’ll be fine.

    @paranoid asteroid – I think I am going to do it. Yay for all the encouragement! Even T thought it was a good idea.

    @everyone – just so you know, there are NO cute blue flats, but I’m considering these:
    http://www.davidsbridal.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplayView?storeId=10052&catalogId=10051&categoryId=-49997463&currentIdx=0&subCategory=-49998498|-49997996&catentryId=6110521&sort=

    (in pool). No, they aren’t my dream shoe but I think they’ll do, and as far as dressy flats go, they are really the best I can find. But I’ll hold off until I can try on the style with the dress over christmas. Unless I (or anyone else!!!) finds a cuter flat that comes in that lightish blue!

  14. RubyB permalink
    October 1, 2009 1:24 am

    Well since I think all white shoes are horrendous, please do go with the coloured shoes! :o)

  15. October 2, 2009 12:47 pm

    P.S. I just want to say I LOVE your attitude on your wedding. You seem so unbelievably chill. It’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

