Skip to content

September Wrap-up

October 1, 2009

Last month flew by!  It was full of fun and care-free days, and I didn’t bother to glance at my goals.  This seems to be something of a (bad) habbit!

We splurged on going out more than usual, I took a trip to wine country (San Louis Obispo), a trip home, and I bought make-up, hair cut, and clothes.  I’m going to lose my pf blogger cred, but here is the gory details of how I pretended I don’t like saving for one month.

Make-up:  $150.  YES, really.  I think it was the first make-up I bought this year (except a lipstick earlier this summer) and I don’t plan to buy any more.  Except perhaps an eyelash curler.  Which isn’t make-up, but a tool.

Hair:  $95

Clothes:  $150.  This includes $45 for alterations to my dress, a new work skirt, new black work shoes, and I think it includes a top that I’m going to return (unless they have a different size).

Restaurant:  $100.  We went out with friends a couple times… But still.  This is much more than I expected, but $20 here and there adds up fast!

I’m going to work on remedying this one step at a time.  Make-up is easy — I just won’t bother to buy any more until I use something up.  I’m still glad I bought it.  I’ve been wearing it every day and pretending I’m a grown up.  Clothing is harder, but look for a plan coming up this weekend.  Restaurants is an eternal struggle, but I’m going to start with one weekend.  We will not go out to eat this weekend!

Oh, and my goals?!  Failed them all I think.  Except the one about making progress on the wedding.  I think we made a little bit of progress.  But I need to address the overall lack of follow through on my goals.  If I don’t really mean them, why do I write them?  If I do really mean them, why don’t I meet them?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2009 9:10 am

    Well, the real reason we write the goals is so that we make ourselves accountable to our readers. We hope that thinking about admitting the money you spent on clothes will make you not spend that money. We try to shame ourselves into doing what we think we should be doing.

    Your last 2 questions really are the crux of the problem. My guess it’s mixture of wanting to be accountable to someone for the things you want to accomplish, but also not wanting to have 1 item on your goal list for the month.

    It might also be that you have extra money to work with now since you moved in with T. Ideally you’d like to think you’ll save every extra cent, but when it comes down to it, you’re still saving a ton, so maybe it doesn’t seem worthwhile?

  2. October 4, 2009 9:12 pm

    LOL. PA is so right, we’re just publicly guilting ourselves. I realized that a while ago: when I’ve been particularly lazy, I write a post about it confessing. “Saying it out loud” is motivation to get me off my butt.

    Maybe you just need to massage your goals a bit. If you really want to meet them but you’re really wrapped in the comfort of knowing that not meeting does not equal the end of the world, it lacks precedence for you. After all, it’s not like you’re not saving at all when you skip out on the goals for a month.

  3. October 5, 2009 10:00 am

    I always have a hard time with the amount of money I spend on eating out. The temptation is always so strong, and it is also my favorite way to socialize with my friends.

Trackbacks

  1. October Goals (or lack thereof) « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

