Skip to content

Clothing Plan

October 3, 2009

My overall goal for clothing this year was to not spend more than $100/month average.   Primarily due to the last two months, I only have $26 left in the year in order to meet that goal.  Yikes!

Luckily, I have all the shoes I need (all in good condition) except running shoes, which I count as a “fitness” purchase.  Here is what I consider my wardrobe holes right now.

Accessories:

  • 1 thick black belt
  • 1 thick brown belt
  • 1 skinny brown belt (for work pants)
  • 1-2 more trendy necklaces
  • 1-2 pairs of more trendy earings

Shirts/Tops

  • 1 thick dark brown or cream cardigan
  • 1 short sleeve button up work shirt (or other work shirt, but I would love to find a button up that fits well)
  • 1 long sleeve button up work short (or other work short)
  • 1 more dress for going out (maybe. . .)

Bottoms

  • 1 more winter work skirt
  • 1 pair of black tights

Obviously I can’t get that all for $24.  I’ve bolded the items that I’m going to carefully select October – December, and perhaps the rest will go on a Christmas list and/or wait for the new year.  I’m focusing on accessories, since I don’t properly utilize them.  I got this really great t-shirt dress last month (on sale since, uh, summer is over), and if I accessorize it right, it will definitely make it out this fall and winter.

PS – Always the Planner has a really similar post.  We must be on the same wavelength!  Fall = shopping!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2009 7:07 am

    I’m on a no spend on clothes October. September was out of control on clothes. It’s going to be tough though because I love fall clothes! I love the oranges and browns and reds…

    Good luck with the clothing budget!

  2. Suzie permalink
    October 3, 2009 7:22 am

    I think around $26 is my entire clothes budget for the year. I budget about £10 for replacement underwear/socks, and that is it.

    You could probably get everything on your list for less than $25 if you went to Goodwill or similar.

  3. October 3, 2009 11:42 am

    Suzie – $26 for the entire year?? I really want to know what your closet looks like…

    I am having a tough time with my clothing budget as well…I just spend waaaaay too much money on stuff, and it always seems like I have nothing to wear!

    I’m also looking for black tights, as well as a grey pair. I haven’t found anything I like yet!

    Trendy necklaces + earrings can be found at Forever 21 for quite cheap, and their stuff isn’t too bad. I have a few of their necklaces and I always get compliments on them. Target also has some nice stuff, but it’s a bit pricier than F21.

    I have two wide black belts (is that what you mean by thick?). One is kind of a shiny patent black, and the other one you need to tie. If you’re interested, let me know – I’ve worn them maybe once or twice, and you can have them for free!

  4. Kathryn permalink
    October 4, 2009 10:33 am

    I think it’s really important to look put together and professional at work, so if I need something I will get it, even if I’m over-budget. The trick is to buy wisely – go to discount stores or outlets and buy the inexpensive stuff. If it’s low-quality, at least it will look new until you can save up for a quality piece that will last longer.

    The same with fitness wear – buy on sale. It’s important to have clothes for exercising, because maintaining your health is priceless. But try to go a little longer in your old shoes or buy on sale.

  5. October 4, 2009 10:40 am

    @LA Daze — yes I mean wide. I just need one to wear over dresses and such. Free is good! I was planning F21 for necklaces and belts. I like Target more but it is further away and more expensive (but less full of young girls).

    @kathryn – I agree for work clothes, but I still struggle with weekend and social wear as will. I never “need’ a new t-shirt, but I like having them around! I have enough fitness wear for now, but I do like to buy new shoes sooner rather than later, then rotate them in. Running with old shoes can cause injury.

    Plus it is relatively easy to look put together for work once you own the basics: Black work shoes, brown work shoes, pants in a few shades and some nice tops. Cardigans to stay warm. Mix and match, replace when worn. Do I really need a new shirt to add variety? Not really. But I like to rotate in new things now and then. For the right price.

  6. oilandgarlic permalink
    October 6, 2009 11:27 am

    Recently I wrote a post about how reading certain pf blogs actually make me want to spend! Now that I read you’re spending $100 per month on clothes, I almost feel a need to catch up. I think I spend $300 total last year. This year, I haven’t spent much at all although I will spend some for fall clothing. I really think that once you have good basics for work and if your weight doesn’t fluctuate, you don’t need to spend $100 per month.

    Having said that, I do go through moments of ‘wardrobe refreshes’. Last year, I spent mostly on professional clothes for summer. This year, I’m focusing on upgrading my fall work clothes. I would love to spend more for fun weekend clothes but due to budget, I’m sticking to jeans and tshirts!

  7. Bonnie permalink
    October 7, 2009 11:20 am

    I’m ashamed to admit how much I’ve been spending on clothes and shoes lately (although this spending spree is after a LONG while of not buying clothes really). But I’m really happy with what I have. I’m tired of buying crap so I’m going more for quality these days. And quality usually costs, unless you’re buying vintage, which I love, but just isn’t practical for everything. BF and I just returned from an awesome vacation to your (and LA Daze’s, etc.) lovely home of Southern California and let’s just say…we went a little overboard buying cool stuff (clothes and otherwise) that we can’t get in the Midwest. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Raise, Fitness, Clothes, WEEKEND! « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

