Skip to content

Stay sane plan

October 9, 2009

I over scheduled my life again!   To survive until Christmas, I need to make a plan to minimize stress and stay sane.  Here are some things that I need to do.

1.  Tell my mom that I can’t be in charge of finding them a rental for when they come for my wedding, and they need to do it themselves.  (If they have a specific question on a neighborhood, I can check it out.  But they’ve lived around here before, they should have some idea.)  My most recent effort fell through and it’s just one more thing that I have been stressed out about.  So they can do it themselves (or with my sister’s help), unless they are willing to wait until January.

2.  Make a list of stuff we need to do for the wedding and put off as much as possible (which should be nearly everything) until after this quarter.  And force T to help with the small number of things we need to get done in the next couple months.

3.  Use my planner and write in my schedule for classes this quarter.  I’m doing an independent project and I need to stay focused.

4.  Try really hard to avoid being hungover this Sunday.  (We’re having a joint birthday party on Saturday night.)  Drink water, eat food, etc.  Lots to do!

5.  Get into bed at 9:30 when possible and be asleep by 10 or 10:30.

6.  Leave for work by 7 on non-bootcamp days.

7.  Buy all Christmas presents Thanksgiving weekend or sooner.

Hmmm…. I think the big one is the wedding stuff.  I don’t need to worry about a lot of it now, but I do.  I like things to be done and settled.  But I really need to prioritize!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2009 9:17 am

    Feeling overwhelmed during Holidays is I think more stressful then any other time of year. It’s when your supposed to be relaxing and enjoying the company of your friends and family.

    I used to make myself crazy trying to visit everyyyone during Christmas. A couple of years ago my mom sat me down and told me that in the process of making myself crazy I was making everyone around me a little crazy too.

    So to stop the cycle, two years ago I just made the decision to go to my parents place – and stay there. If people wanted to visit me, they knew where I would be and could come and see me at mom and dad’s place.

    This has done wonders for my sanity!

  2. October 9, 2009 3:43 pm

    Oh, I hate it when I overschedule us! It usually happens when several things we want to do end up overlapping a bit. Then we can hardly stand the stress! good luck with everything.

  3. October 10, 2009 11:42 am

    One of the things I am most thankful for is that USC had no project requirements.

    Buying Christmas presents early is a good goal – scrambling around at the last minute is never fun. Plus, with more lead time you can spend more time thinking about good gifts.

  4. October 10, 2009 12:19 pm

    @Jessie – that’s a good plan, it is true, making yourself crazy does make everyone else crazy too!

    @Jennifer – i know! At least it is short term!

    @PA – I honestly think doing a project will be easier than taking another class, since it isn’t a thesis level. I hate the stress of exams. But we’ll see if I still feel that way at the end of the quarter.

    I actually intended to try to do all my shopping on the 4 day weekend, but I remembered black friday and the craziness. But I do like to do a lot of my shopping online, so maybe it is ok? Hmm….

  5. October 13, 2009 12:25 pm

    I need a sanity plan too! I have no idea how to get everything done and my other half has no idea how much planning a wedding takes. Where are you at with yours, it sounded like you have picked a location and done a lot of the heavy decision making. I’m definitely behind, Mr M waited way too long to propose!

Leave a Reply

