Skip to content

Good news, bad news, and clothes too

October 23, 2009

Good News: I bought my plane ticket home for $224 and 10k miles.  I actually bought two one-way tickets on different airlines to get the best price.  Last week I budgeted $400, so this reduces the amount I need to save in my Travel Fund over the next six months to about $440/month.  It also sounds like I’ll come in under budget for Vegas.

Bad News: It is the 23rd, and I’m pretty much out of money for the month if I want to stick with my earlier savings allocations.  It’s not going to happen.  And I’m thinking of using a 40% off coupon + $25 gift card at BR to get a classy jacket.  But that would still be just over $100 out of pocket.

I’m also still obsessed with the idea long boyfriend cardigan, and willing to buy a cheaper brand because I’m not convinced that it is a style that will be popular in two years.  Of course Old Navy is out of my size.   I’m still liking the mustard color this fall, but black/grey/brown seems more practical for a layering piece.

I’m going to an outdoor concert next week, and I’m envisioning a long cardigan over a simple patterned graphic tee, skinny belt, skinny jeans, and tall boots. I own the bottom half of the outfit, but not the top.

But wait, didn’t I just say I was out of money for the month?   I could just wear things I already own…  Hmph.

Any outfit inspiration ideas?  I’m still thinking boots (brown) and skinny jeans.  I do own a longer cardigan with thick blue and white stripes (sort of like this one).    I liked to wear it with yellow underneath last year.  Hmmm… Then my only “need’ is a skinny belt, but that might not work with thick stripes anyway.

I’m putting way too much thought into this. (Avoiding homework.  This is unacceptable!)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2009 6:37 am

    I feel your pain! I too am almost out of money for the month. I like the long boyfriend cardigan too! Sometimes with just a little digging in your closet and creativity you can put together a new outfit.

  2. October 23, 2009 6:45 am

    I have a long-ish boyfriend cardigan that I picked up at the Gap this week from the sale table. It’s sort of feminine too. It was only $24.99 CAD. Might be worth a check!

  3. October 23, 2009 8:24 am

    I believe Zara has some feminine, super soft boyfriend cardigans. They were on sale when I was in Hong Kong, and when I went to Zara last, they had stuff that they had on sale in Hong Kong, at full price. Go figure. That was about 2 months ago, they may be on sale now…so maybe give it a shot? They also have cute graphic tees. I find though that with graphic tees, I only wear them once or twice.

    Are your boots light or dark brown? Your jeans? I totally think you can pull together a cute but casual look with dark brown boots, dark colored jeans, a white t-shirt, and that striped cardigan. Belt would be overkill with the stripes.

  4. SP permalink*
    October 23, 2009 8:35 am

    Thanks for suggestions on where to get a cardigan guys. I think I just have to hit the stores. I’m so busy during the week, but the stores are so crazy on weekends!

    @LA daze – i agree, strips + belt won’t look good, I have pictured it in my head. I think I own everything else, so I guess that is good!

  5. October 23, 2009 1:50 pm

    Dude hit up Targert – I got some awesome boots there for $30 and I know they have cardigans that are way cheap. Try H&M as well – sometimes they have some pretty sweet deals!

Leave a Reply

