Skip to content

Raise, Fitness, Clothes, WEEKEND!

October 30, 2009

Raise:  I mentioned (on Twitter) I got a promotion (basically just a title change) and a small raise (~3% — my manager claims this is normal for mid year adjustments.  It seemed low to me).  I want to talk more about career ambitions soon (my manager mentioned another promotion in a year or two — I’m gunning for one).   Budget-wise I (at least temporarily) raised my 401k contributions by 2% and am waiting to see what my take home is.  I’m expecting to shuttle the additional budget towards my long-neglected car fund.  I am now at 17% 401k, but I probably should back off a little and focus more on cash goals.

Fitness: Bootcamp is over.   The truth is, I skipped out today (Friday).  I’ve been beat/stressed/exhausted and need to get to work early.   Finishing at 7 am, then getting ready, then commuting was just making me too late.  I need to figure out how to keep these results on my own.  I’m much stronger than I have been in a really long time, but I just can’t stomach the $200/month to stay in bootcamp.

Clothes:   In November, I’m budgeting for a new winter coat ($86) and some new black work pants ($64) for a total of $150.  Even though neither of those things are on my plan.  Even though I really need a brown cardigan.  You may have guessed by my precise dollar amounts I already purchased these two items (yeah, in October) due to the 40%  off BR coupons good on Wednesdays in October.

I, uh, also bought two button down shirts, but I think I’m going to return them because:

  • I don’t love the short sleeve one (but I do like it!)
  • For the long sleeve one, a “Tall” size would probably fit better anyway.  I have a long torso.
  • It isn’t in the budget or the plan.  That’s about another $65 in clothes!
  • The reason I own so few button-ups is because I find them unflattering.

It has been a long time since I regretted a purchase within a day or two of buying it.  Usually I only regret it months later when I discover it didn’t fit into my life the way I’d hoped.

Weekend:  OMG, Friday finally!  I have an exam this weekend, a Halloween party, and really, I should just lock myself in my apartment and actually do school work so I can graduate this quarter.  But all I feel like doing is collapsing!   Anyway, it is 7 and  need to head out the door NOW!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2009 7:55 am

    Congrats on your raise! I feel the same way about boot camp- it’s too expensive on a regular basis! My yoga studio used to have a 6am yoga class (perfect!), but they swapped it out for boot camp, which isn’t included in your membership. Ugh yoga + boot camp = not budget-friendly 😦

  2. October 30, 2009 4:48 pm

    Your raise was probably small because you were hired in at a higher salary than market (I think?) for your previous level, so to get you up to market for the next level was probably not a huge jump. I got a big jump with my promotion and transfer, but I’m not anywhere close to market for my position!

    What coat did you buy? I like to live vicariously through other people & their purchases!

  3. October 30, 2009 5:57 pm

    @pa – Maybe that is it. It was just weird because my earlier annual raise was way more than 3%. I guess I can’t complain, but I was expecting probably 6-10%! Wishful thinking! Thanks for chiming in though, I was just curious.

    http://bananarepublic.gap.com/browse/product.do?pid=675461002&tid=brsp1r&kwid=1&ap=7

    In taupe. Logically I felt like I should get a nice peacoat or even a trench, but I liked this one immediately and went with my gut. I love the JCrew peacoats, but I couldn’t have got one for such a good deals.

Leave a Reply

