Skip to content

It’s begining to look a lot like Christmas

November 5, 2009

Not true.  I still haven’t accepted the reality of Christmas season with palm trees, sans snow.   Maybe by next year?

I budget a flat $100 monthly for gifts throughout the year.  Some months it is spent on birthday/wedding/whatever presents, but other months it just grows.  By the end of this month, my gift fund will have $590, which is roughly what I need.

  • T:  $150+
  • Mom:  $50
  • Dad:  $50
  • Sister 1:  $50
  • Sister 2:  $50
  • Sister 1’s BF:  $25
  • Brother in Law:  $25
  • Niece:  $25
  • Nephew:  $25
  • Grandma and Grandpa:  $25
  • T’s family:  $50

Total:   $525

Of course, I usually go a little over my budgeted amount based on what I find for gifts.  I spend the most on T.  We go pretty small on gifts throughout the year, but at Christmas we spend a bit more.  Once I get through the holidays and my sisters’ early January birthdays, I might remove a small amount from the gift fund.  It seems like there is more than needed in it.

My other spending this holiday seasons should be pretty minor.  I already bought my plane ticket home, and I expect I’ll go out and get together with some old friends, but this will be offset by little to no food/gas costs for that week.

New Years Eve will likely be low key this year, but we’ll see.  I’m flying in that day, and if nothing amazing is going on, we’ll probably stay in or go out for a nice dinner.  If something awesome comes up, we’ll go out.  But I’m not going to chase plans.  If it is anything like last year, I’ll be jet lagged and tired!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Bonnie permalink
    November 5, 2009 10:44 am

    I love Christmas, and I REALLY love giving gifts, so I always go beyond my budget.

  2. November 5, 2009 1:58 pm

    Hey last year it was cool and rainy here, definitely not sunny and warm. But I remember some christmases by the pool! I spend way more than that on christmas and for fewer people, you’re quite frugal!

  3. November 5, 2009 9:05 pm

    Is it just you going back for the holidays? I’m going to have a wedding reception post-New Year this year, quickly followed up by a wedding the following week in NY…. I’m rapidly getting tired of airports. 🙂

  4. November 5, 2009 9:17 pm

    @Miss M – It isn’t so out of frugalness, just family norms righ tnow. It would be weird if I bought my sisters a $200 present when they spend about $50. Wouldn’t it? And kids don’t care about expensive things, grandparents don’t need anything. Perhaps I’d spend more on my parents. But again, I feel like I’d be “showing up” my siblings if I spent too much. Maybe this will change over time? I’m not sure. How much is normal for you?!

    T spends even less on his family — $15-$25 each. It is just what they do in their family.

    @Revanche – yeah, his family lives quite far from mine and we decided to go see our own families separately. We might change it when we are married (people would expect that i guess), but it just makes more sense now that we both live so far from our families.

    In fact… he hasn’t seen his family since last Christmas!

Trackbacks

  1. How much do you spend on a gift? « Stacking Pennies

Leave a Reply

