Skip to content

Good and Bad (surviving!)

November 12, 2009

It’s been a rough week or two, and it probably will be a rough month.  I woke up the other day in tears, and ended another day in tears.  I usually would be concerned about that, but one of them was just needing a good cry (see FB’s post for explanation if you are male).

All of it is short term stress due to slight over scheduling and still adjusting to my job.  It will all be over in a month or so, and that will be HEAVEN.

Here are some good things:

  • Performance reviews are coming up soon, and I just got some great customer feedback that should get passed to my manager.
  • By January, I should firmly understand my role and where I fit in on my team, and be ready to be a real superstar.  Yes, it really can take 6 months to become competent (at least in my industry)!
  • By the end of December, you will have to call me Master!  If all goes as planned, I’ll have my M.S. degree completed!
  • Running with my coworkers was a success, and once I’m ready to dedicate to it, I could start training for SOMETHING.  My coworker qualified for Boston — she’s hard core!
  • Going home for Christmas!  Can’t wait!  (I think we’re just going to a friend’s for a Thanksgiving potluck.)

Not so good things:

  • I can NOT stop “needing” new clothes.  And my almost brand new awesome black work pants got a small tear within 2 weeks.  I’m devastated!  (But plan to attempt a repair.)
  • My raise was 3%, and I raised my 401k 3%.  My paycheck went down $10!  Thanks, California, for stealing an interest free loan from me!
  • Canceled the Vegas trip.  I just can’t handle it right now.
  • My dad probably will be laid off within a few weeks. My dad was laid off yesterday.  He’s been working 6-7 days a week 10/hr days for quite some time, so I would expect they’ll be (relatively) fine.  But still.
  • You know that M.S. degree?  It is KILLING me to actually get it.  So.  Much.  Work.

I expect my sudden “need” for certain clothing items is a combination of actually needing cardigans and such for work and finally having room in the budget for it… and plain old retail therapy.  On one hand, my eye is on the budget and I’m trying not to go crazy.  On the other hand, I don’t have the energy to fight it, and if it lasts another month, so be it.  But once I finish school, no excuses!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2009 7:39 am

    Two weeks and a rip? Try taking it back to the store… especially if you have the receipt. They might get you a new pair or a refund. Just play nice when you do it.

  2. November 13, 2009 8:28 am

    The tear is quite obviously not a fault of the design though? I could try… At this point it has been about 3 weeks

  3. November 13, 2009 2:21 pm

    I feel you on that California thing. It will be interesting to see what happens next year with the budget.

  4. November 13, 2009 8:07 pm

    It DOES take 6 months to get into a new job. At my new job, I’m familiar with the program and with some of the software we’re using, and yet I still need help performing day to day tasks & I’ve been there almost 5 months!

    So sorry to hear about your dad.

  5. November 13, 2009 8:21 pm

    This is my 3rd new program assignment in 3 years. Each time, I felt like an utter failure for about ~6 months. Then it improved gradually. My last program was a bit of a special case (in a bad, downward spiral way), but after 1.5 years on my first job, I was really really well positioned, competent and doing great work. Of course, then I moved to cali and had to start over.

Leave a Reply

