Skip to content

A savings milestone (almost!)

November 14, 2009

It somehow seems more endearing to write about finally having a positive net worth (256% increase!) than to note that my retirement accounts finally almost hit a milestone.  (Although, I didn’t really have any readers when that happened.  I don’t blame you though!)   At some point, pf blogging stops feeling like tiny victories and starts feeling more like bragging.  What do you think?

Anyway, now that I slightly increased my retirement contributions, I have nearly $1000/month going into my 401k  from my contributions alone.  (I probably should be focusing more on cash, but that is something I’ll evaluate after the new year.  Only 3 more paychecks this year anyway!)  While this is not as awesome as those that are maxing theirs out, I’m pretty excited about it, and have been watching my retirement account total balance as it creeps towards the next milestone:  $50,000.

After posting last week’s paycheck contributions and market gains, I checked today to find my Roth + Rollover IRA (pre-tax) + 401k (pre-tax) total is ::::drum roll:::: $49,999.66!!! Yay, but are you kidding me!?  Can’t I transfer over fifty cents and call the milestone met?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Shari permalink
    November 14, 2009 9:37 pm

    CONGRATS!!!… The same thing just happened to me when I hit 50 and then 60… the market always seems to slow down around these times and I end up checking my accounts 2x a day till I have to calm down…

    Keep up the good work! What’s the next milestone 75K?

  2. El Cheapo permalink
    November 15, 2009 2:44 am

    Congrats, you’re doing great!!

  3. November 15, 2009 7:28 am

    It’s the little victories that keep us excited and going. You should def keep telling us about them. Congrats and I hope you get those extra 44 cents soon 🙂

  4. November 15, 2009 8:58 am

    Congratulations!

  5. November 15, 2009 9:27 am

    They’re not bragging, they’re giving us encouragement to keep on plugging away!!

    Congrats!

  6. November 15, 2009 11:48 am

    Awesome! Congrats! There’s just something so awesome about those big milestones!

  7. November 15, 2009 11:02 pm

    wow… congratulations – that’s amazing!

Leave a Reply

