Skip to content

I don’t get it

November 19, 2009

Every time a new season comes along, I feel like I have no appropriate clothing.  How is this possible?!?!

How is it possible that I can’t tell whether or not something was a good purchase until months after I bought it?

I need to organize my clothing and my style in 2010.  If I’m going to spend money on it (and I am) I might as well get what I want out of it.  Right?!?!

And, since this is a personal finance blog, you will see the financial part of that.  By the way, I have no real plan on how to do this, suggestions welcome.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 9:29 pm

    I feel the same way! I look at my closet and drawers and feel like I have “nothing to wear”, even though I probably have way too many articles of clothing. I think that I’m a bit of a hoarder, so I have a really hard time getting rid of clothes that don’t fit or look good on me.

    Really, I would love it if “What Not To Wear” came along and sorted through my clothes to eliminate all the stuff I’m too weak to get rid of myself.

    I have started a donation box, but it’s very slow to fill.

  2. November 19, 2009 9:49 pm

    Sort your clothes by type and color to see what you have. Then (for example) you can get rid of the black shirts that are faded or not cute and still know that you have 2 left that fit nicely and are cute. It’s easier to inventory that way and to see where the holes in your wardrobe are. Then go shopping to fill them! Start at the cheap stores and work your way to the more expensive ones. Keep the tags on and return what you don’t like. That’s always my plan of attack.

  3. November 19, 2009 10:03 pm

    I’m pretty good at pruning my closet, just not so good about refilling it strategically.

    I definitely want to take a total inventory, that’s a great suggestion. It’s a bit of a project, but I’ll tackle it.

  4. November 20, 2009 6:37 am

    Honestly, it’s just having the basic classics and adding on the extras

    If you organized your wardrobe, you might find that you have WAY MORE than you think

    Shop your own wardrobe and make a note of everything you’re missing.

    Like: This blouse would look great with khakis. No khakis here.
    Then you might come across: this sweater would look good with khakis.

    Then you know… you need khakis 🙂

    Style on a String ..because style has nothing to do with money.

  5. November 20, 2009 9:50 am

    Ugh, I hear ya. I always say I have nothing to wear even though my dresser drawers are overflowing. Sigh.

  6. Carrie permalink
    November 20, 2009 11:03 am

    I think I’ve commented on your blog before about how I have trouble with this, too. I love fashion and I love looking at other people’s fabulously-put-together outfits, but I always feel like my outfits aren’t really ME. I have no idea how to do, but I really wanna figure it out someday.

    I think it’d be super cool if you had a new series or something about your mission to have a better wardrobe w/out breaking the bank. Maybe you could take us through your current wardrobe & take comments on what people think you need to add and then take occassional random pictures of what you wear or whatever. Geez, maybe I should start reading more fashion blogs…he he

    Good luck!

  7. November 20, 2009 2:39 pm

    I feel the same way. I’m trying to purchase more dresses that I can wear to work and some cardigans to go with them. It makes it fast in the morning and hopefully I can change up the look with the cardigans and jewerly.

  8. November 22, 2009 12:32 am

    I don’t know, either. I’m going to work out what kinds of items I need (eg, lacking work skirt/blouse/blazer, wrap or cardigan, black round toe flats) and in what colours. And then comes the task of trying to find each garment at the right price 🙂

  9. sfordinarygirl permalink
    November 28, 2009 8:20 pm

    I really liked what paranoidasteroid said last time about putting together outfits. I’d suggest taking stock of what you have, how often you wear it (maybe track it in a spreadsheet unless its too much work) and if you were able to wear for/outside work.

    Maybe a style/inspiration board might help you see what you prefer? What about books to help you figure out what to wear? I really liked Issach Mirazhi (sp?)’s manual. That and several others were really helpful while I put myself on a shopping hiatus to figure out what I needed.

  10. December 3, 2009 4:10 pm

    One word for you: Layers!

    I still wear tank tops in the winter. I just wear them under cardigans. 🙂

Leave a Reply

