Skip to content

2010 financial goals

November 21, 2009

I haven’t been blogging much, because I just feel like whining and venting and generally spreading negativity around. So I’ve been mostly keeping quiet.  I’m extremely frustrated and stressed out.  I also know that it is temporary and my life in general is really kind of awesome.  Just not right now.

My favorite thing to do when things suck is to focus on a time when things will cease being miserable.

I have some 2010 financial goals.  The “fun” goals will be coming soon.  I also want to add some career goals, but I need to see how the next month plays out at my job.

1.  $12,000 to 401k:  This should be doable, assuming I get at least a nominal raise this spring and don’t back off too much on my contributions.  I probably could max this out, but I want more focus on cash goals next year.

2.  Max out my Roth and help T with his: Not necessary financially (but maybe), but at least the logistics.  He has a Roth IRA at a full service brokerage that he doesn’t regularly contribute to.

3.  Save an additional $10k cash distributed among mid/long term savings.  This doesn’t include money I’ll be saving for the wedding/honeymoon, as that obviously will be spent within the year.  It may be a stretch based on the numbers I’ve run so far.  I think a lot of it will go in a car fund.  My car hit 100k recently and is 10 years old.  It hasn’t had any major repair issues, but it dying is a possibility that I need to prepare for. 

4.  Spend $1000 (or less) on clothes in a strategic and smart fashion. This is, somehow, going to show up as a blog series.  I know $1000 sounds like a lot.  And it probably is a lot to some, peanuts to others.  But my goal for 2009 was $1200 ($100/mo) and I’ve already failed.   Most important is the “strategic and smart” caveat.

5.  Merge finances in some way shape or form.  We’re getting married in April.  These goals are just for me, not for us.  T’s income is irregular and doesn’t fit into my more rigid monthly budgeting.  It’s quarterly… except monthly in the summer, or monthly if he gets this or that fellowship.  This year he did random contract work that he randomly is getting paid for just now.  And his taxes are always a nightmare.  I might have tried for a joint budget sooner (because I love making budgets!), but I don’t want to add his messy income into my neat and tidy bi-weekly paycheck.

That’s my plan for 2010.  I also plan to revel in the fact that I no longer have to go to school.  OMG.  Amazing.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2009 2:09 pm

    I hear ya on the clothes thing. I’m at about $1,500 this year so far and that’s with 3 months of no shopping. I think that works better for me… to have a few months of no shopping so I can spend more on the months that I do shop.

  2. November 21, 2009 7:05 pm

    I spent embarrassing amounts of money on clothes this year, but I did move more toward having a wardrobe I like, so I can’t complain too much. I’m looking forward to your posts about it!

    Definitely get T to put into his Roth – he’ll never has as little income as he does now as a student!

  3. November 21, 2009 7:28 pm

    I feel like if I just let myself buy more, I’d be happy with it. But what if I do, and that isn’t true?

    I’m trying to get away from the idea that I have to buy MORE, can’t I just buy smarter? I’ll buy 4 things, and 3 will be great. So that is hundreds of dollars at the end of the year on stuff that was just “meh”. Or even buying stuff I really like even if I “need” other items anyway.

    Now that I type it, it sounds like people who say “don’t work harder, work smarter” and I think that type of thing is mostly BS. It takes both.

    T’s on board with the roth idea, it just hasn’t actually happened. I told him he should move it to fidelity or vanguard, and that seemed to complicate it: “But don’t I have until april 15th?” Yes, but… !!!

  4. El Cheapo permalink
    November 21, 2009 9:10 pm

    ‘…and generally spreading negativity around.’ I spit up my drink after reading this LOL. You’re doing awesome and yes, the stress will pass.

  5. November 23, 2009 11:00 am

    Looks like you have some good goals ahead of you and good job on starting planning early!

  6. jillrn permalink
    November 24, 2009 8:56 am

    Great goals! I am making some myself. I am back to blogging check it out. http://www.nursingawaydebt.wordpress.com

  7. Carrie permalink
    November 24, 2009 12:11 pm

    That will be so awesome when you don’t have to go to school anymore! I can completely relate – after being out of school for 4 years, I started studying for the CPA exam and I HATE how every free moment is spent on studying. I will be SO happy when I’m done!

Leave a Reply

