Skip to content

SP has been sent to collections!

December 19, 2009

Yesterday I received a letter from my graduate university saying that I needed to pay them, or else they would send my bill to a commercial collection agency or small claims  court.  For $28. I’m a little bit FURIOUS with them.  Let me give you a little timeline of this fee.

May 2009:  Registered for my summer class and sent them information so they could bill my company the full amount.  Same as all previous semesters, my company paid them the flat rate with no issues.

August 2009:  Finished my summer class, got an A, wooooo!

November 11th, 2009:  A new $28 fee showed up on my summer session bill.  I received no notification of any sort for this fee and had no idea it existed.  The summer session had been over for 3 months.  I think they send out an email at the end (or beginning) of the month if you have a balance on your university account.  So I eventually would have been notified.  But. . .

November 25th 2009:  This fee was sent to the University Collections office and a hold was placed on my record.  I wasn’t explicitly notified of this, I just happened to log into my student account and notice.  This hold would prevent me from getting my degree in time!

I was told to call the “summer office” for details of why this fee was charged at all and why it was charged so far after the class was over.  The summer office automatic message informed me they couldn’t take my call because they were experience an “unusually high number of calls”.  I seriously doubt that.

I called the University Collections office and immediately paid the stupid fee via credit card on the phone, assuming I’d sort out the $28 later.  In the meantime, I needed the hold off my account and this off my record.   My credit card was billed and the hold vanished.  I thought it was taken care of, except for the pesky battle with the summer office.

December 18th, 2009:  A letter dated one week ago threatens to take me to small claims court and screw up my credit report.  I threw it (and my phone which was in the same hand) on the floor in fury.

I think the last letter was just a fluke — obviously I’ll call to be sure.  I have no lessons learned here — I really think this was 100% not my fault.  Yet I’m the one who has to make sure it gets fixed!  And if I hadn’t been paranoid about not getting my degree in time and checking my accounts and such?  I probably wouldn’t know anything about this until today, and it would be too late!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2009 7:30 pm

    Don’t you love how they’ll send you to collections without even talking to you?

    Our library said I failed to return 2 books, and they kept sending me threats, which I wasn’t getting because I was driving across the country. I called, and guess what? My damn books were right there on the shelf!

  2. December 19, 2009 9:08 pm

    URGH! how frustrating. I hope this gets sorted ASAP, that is beyond ridiculous.

  3. December 20, 2009 11:53 am

    Doesn’t sound like your fault at all! That’s incredibly frustrating and irritating, especially since they’re threatening you. Over $28. Lame.
    Hope you get it all sorted out!

Leave a Reply

