Skip to content

2009 Goal Review

January 3, 2010

I rearranged my monies late last month in order to meet my goals.  For example, why did I have $300 extra in my efund and $1400 in my car fund, yet be $200 short on another goal?  Seemed silly!  So, note my full progress bars!

I have $16k in my Efund, $5k saved/spent for the wedding from my pocket, $1.5k in my “Long Term Travel” fund, and $1000 in my poor car fund — all my financial goals are met.  I also killed my contribute 10% to my 401k goal — my salary increased by more than 10% last year and much of that went to increased 401k contributions.

I didn’t meet all my personal/fun goals, but I made some great progress.  I made my “fun” plans too detailed, and plans changed.  I present the rest of my goal copied below.  Look out for new 2010 goals soon!

2009 Goals, from here and revised based on life.

2009 Retirement

  • Contribute 10% in 40k (up from 8%) Exceeded!
  • Max Out Roth IRA DONE
  • Move Roth IRA to vanguard Didn’t do this!

2009 Savings (see sidebars for current status)

  • Save/Use $5000 towards wedding/honeymoon (added May 2009) DONE
  • Start “Long Term Travel Fundand get balance to $1500 DONE
  • Efund up to $16k by end of year DONE!
  • Increase Student Loan Account to $2400 (start of year: $1400) DONE

2009 Career/Education

  • Continue towards M.S. taking 4 classes and getting A/A- DONE!  Took 5 classes and finished!
  • Be proactive about job/career. Specifically:
    • Talk to manager about career goals and ask to look for new assignments Done!
    • Get my job classification changed == raise DONE!
    • Take part in one of those (stupid) work involvement groups Didn’t bother

2009 Life

  • Camping on Catalina No
  • Big Sur (summer vacation?)  No, but did Rae Lakes Loop!
  • Sespe Wilderness area  No
  • Do a 5k, for real Not a race, but I certainly run 5k regularly.
  • Visit friend in Portland before she moves back to the Midwest Done!
  • Mt. Baldy No, but did San Gorgonio
  • Move to new apartment Done!
  • Mt. Lukens Done!
  • Keep monthly clothing spending under $100/mo average FAIL!
  • Try out ocean kayaking No
  • Take a morning yoga class on the beach No, but did boot camp in the morning at beach!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2010 10:12 pm

    Great job on those 2009 goals! Here’s to another productive year in 2010!

  2. January 4, 2010 8:49 am

    One of my favorite things about my new job is that we don’t have to do those improvement teams.

    Great job this year! I’m looking forward to seeing what you plan for 2010!

Leave a Reply

