Skip to content

Fitness Updates: I’m not too good for 30 day shred

January 13, 2010

I have to admit I was feeling a little cocky after I finished the first day of 30 Day Shred (Level 1).  I’m not trying to lose weight, am fairly active, and the workout was similar in style to the bootcamp I did last fall — except only for 20 minutes instead of a whole hour.  We sometimes would spend 15 minutes on abs alone in bootcamp!

I already owned 5lb weights, and they were too heavy for a few of the exercises.  Other than that, I finished the workout without  trouble and thought it was so short that I went on to do some yoga.

I woke up the next morning with very minimal soreness and smugly thought i should consider advancing myself to level 2.  But I got more sore as the day went on, and am still a little sore today (Wednesday) even though I skipped yesterday.  I have been humbled!  It is a good sore though and I’m excited to continue on!

As far as the money goes, bootcamp was roughly $15/hour while the DVD was free via some B&N gift cards.  The DVD is obviously cheaper, and probably a better value too.  There was a “3 for the price of 2” sale going on so I picked up a new pilates and yoga too.  It still used $30 in gift cards — B&N has some expensive DVD prices!

I am not sure if 30 day shred is the ideal program for me — I’m most interested in strength exercises since I love to run for cardio.  But there is enough strength in there to work my muscles and I get to be on the pf bandwagon.  So I’m going to stick with it!  How is it going for the rest of you?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2010 12:12 am

    I did the 30 Day Shred last year and I find it a great supplement to all the cardio I was doing. I should get started again, but I keep forgetting the DVD at my brother’s place. Some of the moves in Level 3 I was seriously scratching my head thinking: there’s no way I can do that…until I bought some of her other DVD’s and man, she’s hard core!

  2. January 14, 2010 2:01 am

    You’re only “minimally sore”?! Hahha. I hurt so badly that I’m kind of hobbling around. Need to tough it out for tango tomorrow. But so far, I’m liking it! Jillian is tough but I need it. And the Shred is certainly very cost-effective, especially if I shed those inches everyone talks about. I’ve spent $10 on the DVD, $9 on a yoga mat, and $6 on weights.

    • January 14, 2010 7:50 am

      No! I was minimally sore the morning after…. then VERY SORE by the end of the day. Ha!

      I really need to get some lighter weights this weekend 🙂 Thanks for starting this!

  3. January 14, 2010 4:05 pm

    I have horrible pain my my glutes! I was too sore to even do some yoga moves the next day, and normally I have no issues.

    We missed day 2 of the shred. Already. Trying to get back on the wagon, but if we can fit in a 20 minute workout, there may be no hope for us!

    • SP permalink*
      January 14, 2010 4:10 pm

      Is chad doing it with you?

      I forbid T from hanging out in the living room unless he was going to do it with me. Maybe that is kind of mean considering the size of our apartment? 🙂

      I don’t think I”ll do 30 consecutive days, but they’ll be MOSTLY consecutive. 🙂

  4. January 19, 2010 7:21 am

    Ugh, I just did Day 1 yesterday, and I am SO SORE today. I have admittedly not been very active lately, but I can barely take the stairs today. I’m determined to do all 30 days of it, though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

