Skip to content

2010 Goals

January 17, 2010

I’ve had this written down for awhile, but I wanted to have time to think about them before I was ready to share.  Here is what I hope to accomplish by the end of the year.

1.  Advocate for another promotion
Whether or not I get one is not 100% up to me — unless I’m willing to take more drastic measures, like search for a new job. Still, if they don’t drag their feet (again) it is a possibility.  I need to make it known that it is what I’m striving for, then I need to work very hard to gain some extra responsibilities and perform.  I got great ratings on my most recent performance review, but sometimes that isn’t enough.  If I don’t get one this year, I don’t want it to be because I didn’t go after it.

2.  Save at least 18k in my retirement accounts
This includes $5000 for my Roth IRA and $13000 in my 401k.  I would love to be maxing my 401k, but I need to focus on cash goals as well.  I also may need to help T with his Roth IRA, but most likely that can come out of his earnings.  I just have to help facilitate that.

3.  Save $15k in cash funds
I’m not sure exactly how to split this yet, but I’m thinking $10k for the car fund and the rest for other savings.  I’m not certain this is possible yet, but it could be.  I actually doubt I’ll meet this considering I am planning on paying for a semi-expensive honeymoon this year.  But I’d love to meet it, so it is my goal.

4.  Go on 10+ day hikes and 5+ overnight backpacking trips
Fun and inexpensive ways to spend some quality time together!

5.  Continue to create and maintain an active and healthy lifestyle:  This one is not incredibly measurable as written, but I’m not ready to commit to any specific event or goals for the year — my goals will be more short term.  Run regularly, eat well, and strength train.  I think I want to do a marathon, but maybe not this year.

6.  Spend less than $1000 on clothes while building a wardrobe I love
It is true I’m mostly satisfied with my wardrobe at the end of each season.  But at the beginning of each season, I’m usually wishing for some key items.  Every year!  I want to improve my wardrobe — with a spending cap!  Not included: Fitness clothing, underwear, sock.

Now I’m off to update my sidebars and such to reflect the new year!

PS – I’m getting married in less than 100 days.  Have so much to do but don’t want to do any of it!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2010 7:41 pm

    Goals look great! Do you and to-be hubby have any goals together? Have you found it’s harder to get guys to set concrete goals like we like to do?

    • January 17, 2010 10:27 pm

      We haven’t yet. I think it is more because he is a graduate student so his financial goals are to be generally frugal (while having a honeymoon and wedding) and his real goals to publish are quite pressing anyway.

      Or maybe not. I don’t know. I never set out with yearly goals until I had a real job. And probably until I had a blog. 😉

  2. January 17, 2010 7:54 pm

    I definitely think you should do #1. I think you got the bad end of the timing rules, but if you check the job family information online, I think you’ve surpassed the minimum requirements for the next level up. Obviously there’s the 6-month waiting period from your last promotion, but if you’re performing at the next level, there’s no reason you shouldn’t be there.

    • January 17, 2010 10:19 pm

      Yeah I know. I don’t really have that much responsibility on my new assignment yet — so I’m not sure that I can claim I’m performing at the next level or not. (But if I’m not I do claim it is because their lack of organization/planning in helping me define my role!)

      It really does depend on how the next few months go. But I’m surely going to try!

Leave a Reply

