Skip to content

Personal Finance Confession

January 29, 2010

Something happened.   In January, an alien took over my body and spent a lot of pent up money.  Well, except for the alien  part.

We’ll ignore the haircut ($95 after tip), because I needed it.  At least until the after the wedding, I am sticking with my silly expensive L.A. salons and probably will try something else later this year.

We’ll also ignore the purchasing of wedding rings, since that is a wedding expense and already booked for in the designated savings account.  But that was $690.  I guess I divide that by two since it went on the joint card.  We still haven’t bought our invitations, which will be at least another $400.

The clothing wasn’t bad either — returning an item, I stumbled into a 40% of sale prices at BR plus a random 10% off for using gift cards.   I got some new dark brown dress pants and a top I’d first wanted at full price for under $40 total.  And that was on gift cards!  On a different occasion also got some black skinny dress pants that I have been loving ($40).

Last fall I was bitten by the make-up bug, and I finally have started to experiment with “grown up” make-up.  I got something of a starter set in September, but I didn’t care for the concealer.  And I had a huge blemish on my cheek that would not vanish.  So I bought some MAC concealer for about $17.  Then I bought my sister a Sephora gift and picked up a couple things for myself for about $30.

T and I also jointly bought both a printer/scanner($70) and a lightweight down comforter ($250).   We were registering and we felt that it was ridiculous to put a $600 (full price — it was on sale) comforter on our registry and we best just buy it ourselves.  The printer was partly in  anticipation of some wedding stuff we want to do ourselves, and because we wanted a scanner.

This isn’t it!  More to come on the final big purchase later once it is final, but it’ll run over $200.  While I can cash flow all this (at the expense of my savings plan for January), I wish I didn’t spend so much.  At the same time, I’m totally happy with all purchases, so…  that’s that.

This craziness is 100% not ok on a regular basis and the rest of the year, I’ll do much much better.   Promise!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 5:52 am

    That was me in December, and while I can’t pinpoint a particular purchase I wish I hadn’t made, seeing those numbers left me feeling nauseated. Those BR purchases sound great though! If you needed them eventually anyway, you’d have spent a lot more if you bought during a non-sale season, or even if you tried to buy them somewhere cheaper, so focus on that if you still want to make yourself feel better. =]

    Another note, I’m not sure where you have your registry, but at Macy’s after the wedding if there are any items left on your registry that you didn’t receive I believe they give you a 10% discount.

  2. El Cheapo permalink
    January 29, 2010 12:02 pm

    re: Confession
    I think all of your purchases seem sound, mainly quality stuff you’ll be using for years. I can certainly relate on mass purchasing though. Sometimes when it rains, it pours.

  3. January 29, 2010 3:27 pm

    I am on a makeup/cream rampage myself.

    Creams.. LOTS OF CREAMS. Expensive, rose-smelling creams…

  4. January 30, 2010 8:05 pm

    I’m a bit jealous of your encountering the BR sale with the extra % off for using GCs. I’ve never seen that before! And I have $90 in GCs sitting in my wallet, I was hoping for some really good deals but haven’t found anything yet.
    Dec/January are my rough cash flow months, I’m not looking forward to making up my January summary. 😛

    • January 30, 2010 8:54 pm

      The gift card thing was not well advertised — I just said I was using them and she replied “Oh, that is another 10% off!”

  5. February 1, 2010 12:20 pm

    That BR sale sounds amazing! I’m a little wistful that I missed it but I guess it’s a good thing in the long run for my pocket book! 🙂

Leave a Reply

