Skip to content

Paying a preimum to avoid stress

February 2, 2010

T and I agreed that we’re paying a premium for the privileged of not spending as much time on our wedding planning.  We’re both ok with that.   I’m continually amazed at the creativity and bargains of some brides who have wedding blogs, but I’m just not in that world.

I did a lot of research of venues, but we only physically met with one for the ceremony, one for the reception.  I spent one day wedding dress shopping.  I tried on 3 veils and settled for shoes I don’t love.   I met with one photographer, one cake person.

I did do my homework, found reviews, and checked the prices of many places.   But our method is this:  Once someone has made it to the physical meeting stage, all they had to do was not be (much) more expensive than I expected, have a good personality, and live up to the research.

My photographer was easygoing, outgoing, and made us laugh.   The pictures were great.  The price was right.  Booked him.  The cake is ~$125 more than my projections, but the cake was great and I don’t want to see if I can do better.  Booked her on the spot.  The reception dinner lady was kind of flaky, but I think she’ll get the job done.  Booked anyway.

I should have met with many photographers (venues/cake people/florists) and picked the one we liked best for the best price.  All the advice I read suggested this, complete with lists of questions to ask.  We  just couldn’t bring ourselves to do this.

I can’t put a dollar amount on the premium we are paying by not doing complete research, but I bet it is at least $500.  Or more, who knows?  On one hand, I think this is really stupid of us.  On the other hand, I can’t bring myself to make the other decision, so we’ll pay the premium and enjoy the wedding, as well as the months leading up to it.  This is not personal finance advice, it is just our personal finance decision.

Married and engaged readers, did you meet with many vendors?  Did you ever pay extra just because you didn’t want to deal with trying to find a bargain?  Do you think we’re nuts for just paying more?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 6:45 am

    I’ve never planned a wedding, but I can see your reasoning. If your time is limited and it’s going to stress you out, why not pay a little more to avoid all that? As long as you have the money and are knowingly doing so, it’s a decision. That’s all.

    I’ve done it with smaller purchases and even though I know I would’ve saved some money it’s worth it sometimes.

  2. February 2, 2010 9:35 am

    Last night we met with a DJ and basically booked him on the spot – he was the first and only one that we met . . . his price was great, he was personable and seemed like he knew what he was talking about. I only met with one photographer too and it was the same thing! We went to three wedding venues (in one day) and booked the first one we saw of the day . . . so I guess I’m in your school of thought. I do my research, I have asked for referrals, and if someone comes reccomended and checks out okay then why not? It seems pointless to meet with three-five djs if you are going to go with the first guy anyway!

  3. February 2, 2010 11:28 am

    I like your style – keep it as stress free as you can!

  4. February 2, 2010 11:59 am

    I like your reasoning. I think I will likely do the same, as long as I like the person, get the feeling they will meet your expectations, and they are reasonably priced. Why not! Gives you more time to spend on other things.

  5. February 2, 2010 2:14 pm

    Most brides I know stress out way too much about the day. You have to be careful about not spending beyond your budget of course, but oftentimes too much shopping around will just cause indecision paralysis.

  6. February 2, 2010 2:38 pm

    I don’t think I could, either. Esp as it sounds like you’re super busy at work. After all, it’s only one day (a big day, but one day nonetheless). I could imagine myself starting a wedding blog one day, though…

  7. February 2, 2010 4:29 pm

    In my experience I think you’re doing it the right way. I think there’s only two reasons to meet with multiple people for each thing and they are (a) because you are obsessed with getting the perfect day, which will inevitably lead to something spoiling it for you, or (b) because you really really really can’t afford it (and then you just end up disappointed in what you can’t have 🙂

    Personally, I find the more options I have the more I second guess whether I’ve done the right thing. So we saw 3 venues, one of which sucked, and picked one, picked a photographer based on friend’s recommendation, I did a trial hair/makeup but really, she would have had to be awful for me not to choose her, etc etc. I spent a long time looking at flower styles on the web but ended up going for the first person I talked to (and they were silk, to keep the cost down.) The thing I stressed the most about was the wedding favours – and we ended up chucking that idea and just making a donation to a charity on behalf of everyone instead.

    In the end we had a really wonderful day that was filled with things we were really happy with but without any real stress, and I think that’s what you need. If you can afford your choices and you like them, why waste your precious time? You ARE doing your homework before meeting with the people, there’s nothing wrong with your method. If you do choose a cheaper option because of the price, you may end up thinking ‘what if’ and regretting it.

  8. June 26, 2010 7:44 pm

    We only met with one cake person, because I had tried their cupcakes many times before, and already knew they’d be delicious! We only met with one florist. They were the only local florist (small town), and they impressed us with our first meeting (by creating a bouquet for my maid of honor out of thin air!). I bought a dress during my first day of shopping and only visited one place. Chose the first photographer we met with, though I did do a lot of online “shopping” for a photographer in our area. And since the “venue” was my parents’ yard… We had about the same experience you did! Ours was more from lack of options and small budget than anything, but it definitely reduced our stress! And I think it only minimally cost us more money.

Leave a Reply

